Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I read all the reviews for this recipe and actually opted to impliment some on my first try...I too used 1/2 the sour cream (8oz). I used a rottisserie chicken that I cooked in taco seasoning and water. I used cup up corn tortillas, 1 can of black beans, 1 can of Bush's Chili Beans, sm can of sliced black olives, cr of chic soup, 2 cups of shredded Cabot Cheddar cheese and a 16 oz jar of Frontera Medium Salsa. All in all a good recipe. It was a little more calorie laden than I usually like but a good "comfort food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just made this for supper and it got rave reviews! I had to make a few substitutions based on what I had but still turned out great and slightly healthier. I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream and black beans instead of chili beans. (By the way, the cream mixture would make a great chip dip!) I also seasoned the chicken breasts with taco seasoning while they were cooking. All my guys in the house went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This recipe has been a huge hit and I have made it many times now. It is delicious and creamy. The only change I have made is that we usually add green chili into the mix. The pan usually makes a bit more then our small household will eat so we have it for dinner then put some in the fridge and freeze a chunk too for a later date and even then it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Josh's favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was so yummy and very easy to prepare. My guests loved it! I used corn tortilla instead of flour and cut the quantity of cheese and sour cream down. I also substituted enchilada sauce and tomatoes for the salsa. The onions were still a little cruchy so I will saute them for a few minutes before adding them next time. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and a generous spoon-full of enchilada sauce. Refried beans and rice make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Loved this meal. Changed it according to what I had. Didn't have any condensed soup but combined 2 chix breasts (cooked and shredded) with 2 cups black beans, 1/2 med onion, 2 garlic cloves and 1/2 jalapeno pepper diced and sauteed with 1/2 Tbsp chili powder, 3/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp each oregano and paprika and 1/2 tsp salt and pepper. Used this as the chicken layer, than combined 1.25 cups tomatillo salsa with 1/2 cup sour cream and used as sour cream layer. For cheese, used tex mex shredded blend - 2 cups total was fine for whole recipe. Corn tortillas instead of flour worked well. Made only 2 layers of each ingredient and the above amounts filled an 11x7 pan. Next time will make a 9x13 so there are lefovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was a very cozy meal for a cold weeknight! I used about 4 cups of chicken leftover from a roasted chicken 2 nights before which added a lot of rich flavor. I'm always looking for ways to make my recipes healthier since my husband has high cholesterol, so I cut out the cheese entirely in the layers, adding only a sprinkle on top for aesthetics. General consensus was that it did not detract from the meal ONE BIT. I also used half-fat sour cream to bring down the saturated fat a notch. Next time I make this recipe (it has already been requested that I do!!) I'm going to use fat-free Greek yogurt, and a reduced fat/sodium soup. It can still be delicious while being more kind to your heart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is definately a winner. I also cut down the amount of sour cream. I added black beans drained instead of chili beans and also whole kernel corn drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
kinda boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was ok. My husband and I liked it, but the kids did not care for it. Probably more or less because of the unappealing appearance of the dish..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States