Chicken Dilly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
This recipe really is a great lite dinner in the summer. Also takes care of alot of Veggies from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Very good, but I'll cut back on the amount of turmeric I use next time. Was a little overpowering for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Really delicious and easy to prepare. I had to make a few changes...I didn't have fresh tomatoes or dill, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes & about 1 tsp of dried chopped dill. I hadn't used tumeric before so I just sprinkled on a 1/2 tsp. The dried dill was a little "faint" but everything else worked out well! I'll use fresh dill next time or more dried..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was amazing. I used chicken tenders instead of a whole chicken. Really easy and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was really good. I had to make a few modifications. Used chicken tenders and sauteed the onions. I layerd first the sauteed eggplant, then place the lightly sauteed chicken tenders on top. Mixed the onions with a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes and spices and added some chicken stock. Topped the eggplant and chicken with the tomato mixture. Refrigerated for a few hours, then baked (convection) at 375 for about 45 minutes. Served over rice with a green salad of romaine, chick peas, cucumbers and artichoke hearts. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Changed it to fit my ingredients = excellent! no nutmeg, used baharat - Israeli name for a medley of Middle Eastern spices - and black pepper directly on chicken before sauteing. Sauted onions. Fresh tomatoes too expensive now - 1 small can tomato sauce and 1 harisa paste. Surprised at how dill enhanced the recipe so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I give this recipe a 4 because after cooking it 30 minutes with foil I opened the oven to remove foil and it looked very dry. I then mixed up one cup of water and a bullion cube and poured it on top. This helped moisten the turmeric that was on top as well as make a sauce. I then cooked uncovered for 15 more minutes and found it to be pretty good. The chicken broth flavored nicely with the spices and made a good topping for the rice. I will make again. My 2 and 4 year old did eat it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
It was a tasty dish but because the spices were on top, they stayed dry which was odd. I would mix the spices in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good but not perfect. Something misses that will make the taste even better. Also, next time I might substitute dill for oregano, or for basil, as dill was not very complementary to the eggplant/tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious! I used dried dill, and instead of just putting the dill & turmeric on top, I sprinkled them on each layer. The only thing is next time I will not cook the eggplant first becuase it was WAY too soft. this is the best chicken dish I've had in a LONG time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States