Chicken Dilly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Really delicious and easy to prepare. I had to make a few changes...I didn't have fresh tomatoes or dill, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes & about 1 tsp of dried chopped dill. I hadn't used tumeric before so I just sprinkled on a 1/2 tsp. The dried dill was a little "faint" but everything else worked out well! I'll use fresh dill next time or more dried..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was really good. I had to make a few modifications. Used chicken tenders and sauteed the onions. I layerd first the sauteed eggplant, then place the lightly sauteed chicken tenders on top. Mixed the onions with a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes and spices and added some chicken stock. Topped the eggplant and chicken with the tomato mixture. Refrigerated for a few hours, then baked (convection) at 375 for about 45 minutes. Served over rice with a green salad of romaine, chick peas, cucumbers and artichoke hearts. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Changed it to fit my ingredients = excellent! no nutmeg, used baharat - Israeli name for a medley of Middle Eastern spices - and black pepper directly on chicken before sauteing. Sauted onions. Fresh tomatoes too expensive now - 1 small can tomato sauce and 1 harisa paste. Surprised at how dill enhanced the recipe so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
This recipe really is a great lite dinner in the summer. Also takes care of alot of Veggies from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was amazing. I used chicken tenders instead of a whole chicken. Really easy and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Very good, but I'll cut back on the amount of turmeric I use next time. Was a little overpowering for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious! I used dried dill, and instead of just putting the dill & turmeric on top, I sprinkled them on each layer. The only thing is next time I will not cook the eggplant first becuase it was WAY too soft. this is the best chicken dish I've had in a LONG time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Good but not perfect. Something misses that will make the taste even better. Also, next time I might substitute dill for oregano, or for basil, as dill was not very complementary to the eggplant/tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I give this recipe a 4 because after cooking it 30 minutes with foil I opened the oven to remove foil and it looked very dry. I then mixed up one cup of water and a bullion cube and poured it on top. This helped moisten the turmeric that was on top as well as make a sauce. I then cooked uncovered for 15 more minutes and found it to be pretty good. The chicken broth flavored nicely with the spices and made a good topping for the rice. I will make again. My 2 and 4 year old did eat it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
It was a tasty dish but because the spices were on top, they stayed dry which was odd. I would mix the spices in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States