Chicken Dijon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Just okay. Won't make again. Don't know what happened to the sauce, but it was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Eeek couldn't eat it I ended up brushing it off. I guess I just don't like that flavor/texture combo. I followed others suggestions and it was super bland even with that, added salt afterwards and still bland. Just felt like I was eating unnecessary extra fat for the sake of eating fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good recipe, but you do have to add some spices. I added a bit of garlic powder and onion powder. It is a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Based on Kat's review this recipe was 5 stars! I changed this quite a bit using 3/4 cup of broth and 1 1/2 cups cream no flour, I also seasoned the chicken before pan frying, I sprinkled with salt pepper and garlic. I also added about a teaspoon of tarragon. My oven will only go to 170, so that's what I used to keep everything warm while the potato croquettes and brocoli cooked. Everything was fantastic Huge hit!! My husband had seconds and took leftovers in his lunch. My 1 year old ate every bite. We used some of the sauce to 'flavor' her broccoli and she ate every bite. She's always a pretty good eater, but last night she ate EVERY single bite, without feeding the dog any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Yum! Hubby agreed that this was pretty tasty! I only made slight changes - salt, pepper, and taragon on the chicken after pounding (these breasts were gigantic) and before cooking. I doubled the sauce per another's suggestion but that was too much sauce. Next time I'll make 1.5 times the sauce but still 2x the dijon as we both thought the dijon flavor could have been more intense. I also used fat-free half and half. Still yummy. Will be adding to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I have only made Chicken Dijon using heavy cream and the mustard. I will try this but cutting back on the chicken broth and using extra cream. The chicken broth I'm sure will give a subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I agree with the majority of reviewers that this recipe needs a little "something" to build on the basic recipe. I added salt, pepper, and then a little sherry to the sauce. Hubby loved it! Can't wait to make it again. Next time I think I'll add some sweet vidalia onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Love this dish!!!! My 10 year old finicky eaters love it too! The sauce is what makes the dish stand out. I've used both the stone ground mustard and smooth dijon (I do NOT tell my kids there is Dijon mustard in it, they wouldn't eat it!). Both mustards create equally as tasty results. Really!! The stone ground makes it a tad more flavorful. Always double the sauce, since there isn't quite enough to put over potatoes, rice or noodles. This is one of my favorite recipes and I'm so thankful to have found it. I'm an above average cook and know basic sauce techniques. I haven't tried other suggestions to use olive oil I stead of butter; I'm afraid to change the recipe as it's great as is. I like other reviewers input on adding seasoning to the chicken prior to frying. NOTE: tastes way better if you use the jarred condensed chicken broth (you add tablespoon to a cup of water. It is not bouillon! It's called "Better Than Bouillion", I think. You refrigerate the paste after opening. This dish gets a richer flavor from this broth, as opposed to canned or cubes versions. I also cook at 350 for at least 15 minutes after browning chicken. Modern ovens don't allow such low heat as recipe calls for. Plus, I want to ensure chicken is cooked through. Great with fingerling potatoes, green beans and a salad! Tastes even better the next day, reheated!! Thanks again for a staple recipe we will continue to make! I'll try the white wine reduction to reduce amt of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent - you might want to use the sauce over a ham steak also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Delicious. If the chicken pieces are not the same thickness, it may be good to flatten or otherwise trim so that they cook evenly. I added a tiny sprinkle of poultry seasoning to the chicken, but it really wasn't needed. The butter, mustard, and cream added plenty of flavor on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States