Chicken Delicious Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
You people that write reviews and say, "it was SO good" BUT I CHANGED/ADDED a few things...You are ridiculous! YOU Change the recipe and ultimately change the rating of the recipe based off your NEW recipe. My kids/husband didn't like this recipe (followed precisely as it is written). You should rate the recipe AS IS and not based off the things YOU add to it and change to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julien

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
The idea of cream of celery with chicken is a great idea. However, I changed the recipe a bit since I am only cooking for 2. With 2 large chicken breasts (about 1/2 lb each),I used 1/4 teaspoon of paprika, celery salt, and ground black pepper. 1 tablespoon of fresh Lemon juice over the meat after sprinkling with the dry ingredients. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and just used 1 can of cream of celery with 1/4 can of reduced fat milk and 1/3 cup of white wine. The whole thing sat in the crock pot for about 6 hours. It came out tasting wonderful. =) Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was a good basic recipe for us. I washed and dried the chicken breast the night before. In a bowl I mixed 2 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. of paprika, 1/2 tsp. of ground black pepper. I then brushed the breast with mixture, put in a zip lock bag added remaining mixture to bag which wasn't much. Put in fridge. I diced up some fresh celery and onion and put in a seperate bag. Next morning I put chicken in crockpot, mixed together my fresh celery/onion with one can of cream of mushroom soup 99% fat free and in place of sherry used 1/2 cup of chicken broth and half cup of grated parmesen cheese. Poured over chicken and dinner was ready when we got home. Served with brown rice and a salad. Simple comfort food. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
My family really loves this. I use 6 breasts, the same soup/seasoning/sherry combo. I only cook it for 5-6 hours on low. I take two forks and shred the chicken after about 5 hours, then stir in 1 cup sour cream mixed with 1/4 cup flour for the last hour of cooking. The sherry makes the flavor difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was soooo good. I ended up putting in a cup of white wine and using 1 can each of 98% fat free cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Like so many others, I thought this was salty even though I omitted the celery salt. I used low-sodium soups so I think it might have been the cheap cooking sherry I used. When will I learn never to use a wine bought in the condiment section of the grocery store! ;o) While it was a little salty, it was still pretty good. I also used thin chicken breasts & thought they were a little overcooked; I only cooked them on low for about 6 hrs... maybe it was because I only used four breasts? I added some chopped mushroooms & celery because I had some on hand, then I added 3 cloves of minced garlic because I love garlic. The garlic did complement the flavors of the sauce a lot. I added a little more than 1/2 c. of low sodium chicken broth to the sauce about halway through the cooking..,.I guess it needed it because of the lack of juices from the missing chicken. I did not add the parmesan to the crockpot (so I can't blame the saltiness of the sauce on that). Instead, after it had cooked, I transfered the chicken to a glass baking dish & sprinkled them w/ the parmesan & put them under the broiler until the cheese was melted & golden. Then I poured the sauce around the chicken, being careful not to pour it on the chicken, thereby maintaining my beautiful cheese topping. I served it w/ boiled new potatoes (really good w/ the sauce) & pan-fried asparagus (from this site). All in all a very good meal but it will better the next time I make it w/ a quality sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This recipe gets points for ease but what it offers in convenience it lacks in flavor. To make it appealing to my family I had to add more ingrediants than the original recipe called for. The whole family liked it but only after I had altered the recipe so it barely resembled the original. I added more spices, spinach, garlic, shredded carrots, plus I doubled the sherry. Good thing I started preparing this early. This is a solid base for a more detailed dish but in my opinion, it doesn't stand on it's own. I'm sorry, thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
A good easy weeknight meal. I halved the recipe and used only one can of mushroom soup, and eight frozen chicken tenderloin pieces. I put the chicken into the pot frozen, and when I stirred in the sauce, it looked like it would not be wet enough, but by dinner time (about 9 hours later) plenty of sauce had developed to serve over rice. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This chicken recipe was soooo easy and tasted delicious. Just fix it and forget it until dinner time. What could be easier. I loved the hint of sherry in this one. I served it with mashed potatoes, green beans, and Great Garlic Knots from this site.My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I made this with cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery, wine instead of sherry, added mushrooms, and omitted the celery salt. It was quick, easy and really delicious - we had it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States