Chicken David Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Men are not the only ones who love this dish! My entire family, including the picky eaters loved it. The only change I'd make would be to cook the dredged chicken in half olive oil and half butter first, removing it to a warm platter in a slow oven. Proceed with the vegetables and sauce before reintroducing the chicken to the sauce to complete cooking the chicken through. I also used fat-free half and half and it was undetectable. This sauce is flavorful on its own and doesn't even need the help. I served this on a bed of angel hair pasta with a salad, sweet baby peas, and garlic bread. It was an immediate hit that we'll be having again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! Following the reviews, I browned the chicken first, removed the chicken from the pan, and followed the rest of the steps, doubling the sauce. I did omit the salami and salt and used red wine instead of the sherry (out of sherry). I returned the chicken to the pan and simmered until it was the consistency I wanted. I served with orzo, salad, and herbed toasted bread. Next time, I will use a low sodium broth (was a little salty even though I didn't add salt - and I love salty), and I will mix the orzo right in while it's simmering instead of cooking separetly. Cant' wait to get at the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This recipe is SO delicious. However, you can easily reduce the amount of prociutto and salami to save money and reduce the saltiness. (1/4 of the stated amount is perfect) Do not use any extra salt in this recipe and use a low salt chicken broth. This recipe will impress anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Family definitly liked this recipe very much. Did not have any prosciutto on hand so made it without. I cooked the chicken first in a mixture of half olive oil and butter. Then put the chicken on an ironstone serving platter which I had previously microwaved for 3 mintues to get it warm. This kept the chicken hot while I prepared the rest of the meal. Will make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
All I can say is WOW!!! It was the quality of a nice italian restaurant. My daughter said it eased her craving for Olive Garden. I altered a couple of steps...After dredging the chicken in seasoned flour I fried in oil. Then I poured most of the oil out and cooked bacon and summer sausage (didn't have proscuito and salami). then added onion garlic and red pepper. didn't have marinara so I crushed 3 whole canned tomatoes and some of the juice and a little tomatoe paste. Added some italian seasoning and the rest of the ingredients and added the chicken breast to the sauce. Let that simmer and reduce and serve over vermicelli or and pasta....AWESOME!!!! BTW....if sauce is still too thin...mix 2 tablespoons of corstarch with 1 tablespoon water. add to the sauce little by little (folding well over medium high heat) to the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is phenominal - made it for a dinner party and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was just amazing. I did not have any Sherry so I used white wine, I didn't have any mushrooms. Can't wait to try the recipe again with the mushrooms. Can't wait for the leftovers tonight. Thanks for adding this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. It tastes like something you would order at an Italian restaurant. I only used half of the hard salami. I'm glad I did because it was quite oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Delectable.. My sauce was a little runny but other than that.. excellant. I would have never thought of combining marinara and cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
So very easy and tastes great. DH wants me to serve it to guests arriving in February. I'm going to use the extra sauce with noodles tommorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States