Chicken Curry V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I don`t eat chicken but my family say in whole this dish is very good. But I have two remarks. At first, it would be desirable, that sauce was a little bit hotter. At second, the sauce is too liquid. I used 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1 incomplete cup water and the sauce all the same was too liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is the authentic way to make Malaysian chicken curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
The two cups of water makes the sauce watery. Use much less if you want a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
An absolutely AMAZING dish! I do recommend that you use less water if you desire a thicker sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Amazing. I liked it much better than Indian curry, which uses yogurt instead of the coconut milk. Many of the ingredients were difficult to find (Anise pods and Tamarind Juice...I went to 3 different grocery stores!!). I used anise seeds instead and left out the Tamarind Juice, but it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great & easy as. I did make some changes using what I did have though. Left out Anise pod, tamarind & curry leaves as don't have. Used regular brown onion instead of shallots. Used garlic & ginger out of jars cos that's what I did have. Only used 1 tblspn curry paste to experiment with flavour. Depends on your paste I expect but 4 would have been unbearable. So test it first. Didn't use as much water but did add some cornstarch to thicken. It was really good though & will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My family thinks this was the best curry we've had yet! I didn't have all the whole spices, so I substituted ground spices in many cases, and I had no tamarind. I also used a whole can of light coconut milk and served over red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Great curry - I kept the sauce thick and added fresh mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States