Chicken Curry Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This has been our favorite recipe for a few years now. It is so good that we usually can't wait for the puffs to finish baking, so we end up eating the leftover filling straight from the pan as we wait for the puffs. We love to make this for our friends and family when we have get togethers and they are always a big hit. This is usually the only time we make them because they do take a bit of time and effort. When we first started making them we had problems with the puffs coming open while baking them, but now that we have had enough practice we are better at forming the puffs so they won't come apart. My advice for that is use enough water and make sure to squish the corners of the pastry together a bit if you can. They also come apart if you overfill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This Recipe was excellent!!! My family is from south America and this kind of dish has that same taste that i grew up eating! the recipe called for alot of coconut milk so that i could get the same consistency as the video. I didnt have Lemon grass so i grated a little bit of lemon zest mixed with ginger. Because i didnt stir properly i could taste the lemon and ginger, but it added a surprisingly pleasant spark. I also made my puff pastry from scratch and messed it up, but even with that, all i can say is YUM! My husband and other relatives loved it and requested that i make more! I can't wait to try it all again! By the way, this was my first time making the recipe and i followed as is with the exception of the Lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
For the amount of time it took to prep these and bake them, they were just ok. The only ingredient I didn't add was the lemongrass because I couldn't find it. Otherwise followed the recipe completely. As another review said, they were missing something. We found them to be quite bland. Despite using water to dampen the sides of the pastry puff so it would stick together, about 1/2 of the puffs came apart while baking. I also ended up with a significant amount of left-over filling which I haven't decided what to with yet....I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
They were good, but needed a little kick. Next time I will try substituting green apples for some or all of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
WOW, these puffs were amazing, much better than samosas I've had at Indian restaurants!! I didn't have lemongrass or coconut milk, so I added zest of one lemon + fresh ginger + fresh garlic and a handful of shredded coconut. I ended up using much more than a half cup of milk and added peas. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Brought these to a potluck and every one loved them! Because of the amount of time and energy, I broke it up into a two day process. Night one, I made the curry (easy) and filled the puff pastries up with them. Don't forget to make sure the pastry is thawed when working with it. I refrigerated over night. Night two, after coming home from work, I just threw them in the oven. It made about 18. The key is to serve at room temp. as the recipe states. I kept tasting fresh out the oven, and they were not amazing. But after cooling they were great! I recommend plenty of salt, it was missing a little something for me because I love strong flavored curries - I would probably add curry paste too next time. Definitely 5 stars based on the reaction I got. Another added bonus - without the chicken these are great VEGAN snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEMAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Very tasty and a unique appetizer! Brought to Easter and everyone loved them. The puff pastry isn't the easiest thing to work with- before cooking they looked beautiful then as soon as they started cooking they opened up. I found that when they were cooling I was able to push the folds back down no problem. The trick with puffed pastry is keeping it cold while you're working with it (and water patches up holes). Thank you! Will be making this again! Does take some time but worth it (especially if you're only in charge of appetizers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by argus
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
To keep pastry ends together, dip a finger in water and smear it on the edge and press the two pastry layers together. If you are doing a long roll, fold over one edge onto the filling, apply a bit of water and fold the other edge over the dampened edge. Then pierce gently, diagonally with fork tines to seal. After baking, immediately cut long roll into serving sizes. However, leaving one end slightly open will help the built-up steam escape out of the puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These took a while to make make but they were SO worth it! I had a little left over so I just put it over rice. I will be making this dish more often! Great for parties. My only complaint was I had trouble keeping the pastry puffs together at the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This turned out so well! I thought I had lemongrass and red chile pepper at home, but I did not, but I did have a red curry paste which I added with the cocunut milk and it added just the right touch of flavor. I also used Pillsbury cresent rolls for the pastry and they turned out a lot larger than the small pouches intended for this recipe. The curry part was also great curry recipe on its own. The only change I would I would have made for a curry is addding a whole can of coconut milk for a more liquid curry over rice. But it makes sense to have a dryer consistency if you're going to wrap it in a pastry and bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States