Chicken Curry Party Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was good. I put the chicken and a little water in a skillet and sprinkled curry on it while it cooked, and added more curry later, too. The mushroom texture made me think I had a mouthful of uncooked chicken, so I'll leave those out next time. Pears worked instead of apples, and plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I don't like black olives generally, but they added a very nice flavor to this recipe. Also added red onion. Definitely a do-over for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was great! Loved the flavors! Used left over white meat chicken made with a recipe from this site: Honey Baked Chicken II. Didn't add sour cream, mushrooms or yellow bell pepper, as I didn't have any on hand. Did add canned baby corn, because I had some left over and it sounded good. The result was delicious! I deferred from the original recipe, but I'm still giving it 5 stars because it was an interesting and fresh change from boring old macaroni and I think there could be many slight variations to it (next time I may add walnuts and/or raisins) and the creamy curry sauce would still bring it all together. Everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
It's missing something - I'm not sure what. I expected something with bolder flavors. I added more curry but that did not do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I had to make a few modifications since I didn't want to go to the store, but the dressing for this salad is amazing! I doubled the recipe, but only used about a 1/2 c. of sour cream and 1 1/2 c. of mayo with the garlic and curry. Instead of the apples, I put in about 6 diced piquante peppers for amazing color and flavor. Wasn't sure about the olives in this but they were great! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Made it exactly as the recipe calls, but didn't add the apples. I thought it was boring and dry. I'm starting to think that pasta and curry do not go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
My whole family enjoyed this, including my picky 14-year-old. I used low fat sour cream and mayo, omitted the black olives, added sliced green grapes and substituted farfalle pasta for the elbow macaroni. Delicious! (And there were leftovers for lunch tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I loved this salad. I bought some curry powder at the store for this recipe and it brought back so many memories of my moms shrimp curry recipes. I really enjoyed it except I didn't use the olives or fruit. I also used light mayo and light sour cream. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This recipe was AWESOME! I made this for a football party and it was a big hit! I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Thanks Katja! This is one of the best pasta salads I have come across. A wonderful variety of tastes. I used grapes instead of the apple and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States