Chicken Curry III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Really good basic recipe, I made it and then made it again with these mods to the recipe: no ginger, no coconut milk, no yogurt 2 cups milk 8 oz sour cream replace 3 cloves garlic with whole garlic head replace 3 small onions with one large texas sweet onion Add 1 stick butter 2 large potatoes replaced with 7 medium potatoes cubed 4 pounds whole chicken replaced with 2 pounds chicken breast (skinless)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This recipe is great! I did make a few adjustments by using half the yogurt, omitting the milk, and adding more coconut milk and ginger. I also used boneless chicken breasts that I cut into pieces and browned with the onion. It turned out very, very good and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I absolutely adore this recipe! I added a little bit more curry powder in the end with some frozen peas and carrots, this was absolutely the best curry recipe I have found! Thanks for sharing this delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe was great! I love curry, so the amount was perfect for me, but you can cut the curry down by as much as half if you don't like it as strong. I used yellow curry, and I'd like to try it with other kinds. I used light coconut milk, added a little cayenne to make it spicy, and used honey to balance out the curry, not white sugar. The flavor was phenomenal. I also used boneless skinless chicken breasts because it's what I had on hand, but I'd like to try it with regular chicken. If you want to cut down cooking time, try throwing the potatoes in early with the browning onions to get them started on their way. Again, it was great! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERAPHIMJEZEBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Brilliantly hot, it doesn't need any extra spice in my opinion and I like my curries hot. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great recipe!!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend. I pretty much only used it as a basis/reference to make it my own. But what I came up with got a 10/10 rating from him. I also gave some to my friend and she flipped out. I used half a package of chicken breast, half a large potato, half a yellow onion, a can of coconut milk, just a splash of regular milk, and 3 tbsp of Madras curry powder. We like things spicy, so if you like it a little milder, cut back to 2. If it comes out unbearable, you can add some more milk in and let it reduce until it feels right. It came out with a beautiful yellow color, and my hands smelled deliciously of curry afterward. Served over rice, it makes for a great introductory Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I thought this was a great base recipe for chicken curry. The amount of curry in the recipe was about the maximum I would want. Next time I think I will use a little less curry. Maybe 3 or 4 Tbsp instead of 5. I added some mushrooms and bell pepper and cut the onions thick rather than fine. Also added some brown sugar to cut the spice, and used powdered ginger instead of fresh. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is absolutely fantastic w/some modification: No milk or yogurt, just an entire 13+ oz can of coconut milk in its place. Add small amounts of fish sauce, ground cardamom and garam masala. Use 4-6 small/medium potatoes. Add bag of premium frozen sweet peas and 1/4 to 1/2 cup of golden raisins at the end of cooking cycle and cook till heated through. In the future I'm thinking I'll try to add chopped peanuts. Oh and I usually use boneless breasts or thighs cut up into chunks, although the thighs are tastier, moister and easier for the kids to manage on their own. I throw a few cups of jasmine rice in the rice cooker and this is a meal everyone in my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow! I added 1 Tbsn Garam Masala, 1/2 Tbsn black pepper, and 1 tsn red pepper. It tastes just like Pei Wei's Asian Coconut Curry. One of my favorites. Woopi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States