Chicken Curry III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I thought this was a great base recipe for chicken curry. The amount of curry in the recipe was about the maximum I would want. Next time I think I will use a little less curry. Maybe 3 or 4 Tbsp instead of 5. I added some mushrooms and bell pepper and cut the onions thick rather than fine. Also added some brown sugar to cut the spice, and used powdered ginger instead of fresh. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Not bad. I added mustard seeds, turmeric, curry leaves (using less of the powder), and a can of Rotel. We really liked it. We're picky about our curry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I wish I could have it every day. It was absoulutly the best thing on earth. My entire family loved it and wanted a lot more. It was so wonderful. I wish I could make it more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was just okay. It is definitely missing something. We had to add a TON of salt. If I ever do use this recipe again, I will add lots of salt as well as some honey or sugar. I don't think it is lacking in the spicy arena, contrary to a lot of other reviewers who also found it bland. It needs something sweet. But it is a decent base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My first curry! Super-easy, really difficult to mess up this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend. I pretty much only used it as a basis/reference to make it my own. But what I came up with got a 10/10 rating from him. I also gave some to my friend and she flipped out. I used half a package of chicken breast, half a large potato, half a yellow onion, a can of coconut milk, just a splash of regular milk, and 3 tbsp of Madras curry powder. We like things spicy, so if you like it a little milder, cut back to 2. If it comes out unbearable, you can add some more milk in and let it reduce until it feels right. It came out with a beautiful yellow color, and my hands smelled deliciously of curry afterward. Served over rice, it makes for a great introductory Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
An OK, basic curry. The yogourt and milk temper the flavour of the curry, so if you like spicy, up the curry powder, or reduce the yogourt/milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Potatoes took an hour to cook instead of the suggested 20-25 minutes. Curry was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great recipe!!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I thought it was alrite, it was a bit bland so I had to add more spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States