Chicken Curry III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Exceptional! I'm usually not even allowed in the kitchen and it came out awesome. Added a bit more onion. Wasn't sure about the ginger but glad I chanced it. We cubed chicken breasts into about 1 inch cubes and added both the chicken and the potatoes when the onions started to clear. Added the paste and the aroma was delightful. I added a tablespoon sugar to give it that tinge of sweetness and to offset the curry. Also added a little red pepper for that zig. If I leave out the red pepper it is even possible my wife might try some. Hmmm, that would mean sharing . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
substituted the milk for coconut milk (just used the whole can) and chicken breasts and it was perfect. super super easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Hands down, best curry base for chicken I have tried at home. I topped ours with a handful of freshly steamed peas for color and texture! I left out the coconut milk, increading the reg milk by 1/2 cup. I also left out the ginger (personal preference) but added more garlic. I felt that the 1 cup of water would make it too runny, and I am glad I left it out! Had to thicken it a little with more yogurt. TIP: To smooth it out, process a few spoonfuls of yogurt with about 1/2 of the sauce and stir it back into to the pan just before serving. It made all the difference for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVarriano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This is good. I used all coconut milk instead of adding regular milk and water. This recipe will need salt - that's why it's called for. If your dish is on the bland side, try adding salt to taste before adding other ingredients and see if that does it. I like a little more heat to my curry, so I did add cayenne pepper to this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I omit the potatoes. Best one on Allrecipes site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I cooked this last night and while it was completely consumed by lunch time today it could have been better. First and foremost I substituted concentrated coconut for the coconut milk and secondly it was just kind of bland. This recipe needs to be hotter!! The potatoes added a nice touch to this recipe that my youngest son liked. This is a pretty good starter recipe and with a little tweaking I think it would be very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snave88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was really bland, and I even added cinnamon and coriander. I blame it on my store bought curry powder, but I felt that I was just adding lots of spice and not getting any flavor. I'll just need to keep working this one out, but I think that this recipe makes a nice base to start from. I also added leeks and cauliflower to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow! I added 1 Tbsn Garam Masala, 1/2 Tbsn black pepper, and 1 tsn red pepper. It tastes just like Pei Wei's Asian Coconut Curry. One of my favorites. Woopi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is absolutely fantastic w/some modification: No milk or yogurt, just an entire 13+ oz can of coconut milk in its place. Add small amounts of fish sauce, ground cardamom and garam masala. Use 4-6 small/medium potatoes. Add bag of premium frozen sweet peas and 1/4 to 1/2 cup of golden raisins at the end of cooking cycle and cook till heated through. In the future I'm thinking I'll try to add chopped peanuts. Oh and I usually use boneless breasts or thighs cut up into chunks, although the thighs are tastier, moister and easier for the kids to manage on their own. I throw a few cups of jasmine rice in the rice cooker and this is a meal everyone in my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I thought this was a great base recipe for chicken curry. The amount of curry in the recipe was about the maximum I would want. Next time I think I will use a little less curry. Maybe 3 or 4 Tbsp instead of 5. I added some mushrooms and bell pepper and cut the onions thick rather than fine. Also added some brown sugar to cut the spice, and used powdered ginger instead of fresh. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States