Chicken Curry III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Great base, added brown sugar, bay leaf, dash of cinnamon and cayenne as suggested. Perfect. Used 15 oz coconut milk, left out reg milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The curry was good but much too bland for my taste. Will have to keep looking for the perfect combination of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made this dish tonight. It was good, and easy! Not a lot of complexity to the flavor but it was quite yummy. As another person had suggested I too would experiment with adding some other Indian spices to add to the deliciousness next time. I added edamame at the end of the cooking time to add a little color (I HATE peas.) You could add a lot of different veggies. I'm thinking cauliflower instead of potatoes if you wanted to reduce the carbohydrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
It was a little bland. I used 6 tablespoons of curry (LOVE the flavor) and tweaked the spices. I added about 1 teaspoon of turmeric, a dash of garlic powder, a dash of ground ginger (in addition to the fresh), and added basil and a little cayenne. I also had to add at least 2 more tablespoons of water to make the curry turn pasty. After tweaking this, it came out amazing! I served it on top of jasmine rice and my boyfriend fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was wonderful. I used light coconut milk and sour cream instead of yogurt. My picky 12 year old loved it and asked for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good just the way it is. I added red cayenne pepper on mine at the dinner table for some spice, but my kids loved it the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My end result ended up being delicious but this recipe as is was terrible and I'm surprised that it has such good comments! I'm a very good cook and have made curry many times. As is the recipe is VERY bland and bitter!! Once I added about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, a chopped up apple & some salt and let it simmer for a while it finally developed a really good flavor. I will keep this recipe as a base but it REALLY needed something to sweeten it. I also added some peas for some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
this was my first attempt at curry. I must say, it turned out well.. very tasty. my measurements weren't exact and I did purposely throw some extra garlic in there.. I substituted chicken broth for water and served with basmati rice.. VERY FRAGRANT! GREAT SUCCESS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobaFEMME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Execellent. Made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A really great basic curry recipe! I added a little cinnamon, 2 bay leaves, 6 cloves of garlic, 8 tbsp curry powder, some cayenne powder, and a serrano pepper- really more of a "mexican curry".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States