Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
As our first attempt at curry this came out really well. In the future, we will cut back on the amount of potatoes this recipe calls for as it felt a little more like spicy potato soup with chicken in it. So maybe 2 big baking potatoes instead of the four it called for (for the 2 people in our household).But we served it over jasmine rice, and it was delicious! We have made it both with and without the garam masala. Without it, it still has a curry flavor without the hotness, and with it it was very tasty. Will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have cooked several curry dishes over the years but this one blew all my old ones away. This recipe actually is not afraid of a little bit of spice I'm throwing all my old recipes for curry out and using this one. Whooo weeee good stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First curry dish I've ever made. I didn't follow the directions completely, but I liked the concept. It was easy and fun experimenting with flavors. I used chicken stock instead or broth. I didn't have any garam masala, so I sprinkled some cinnamon and ground cloves, granulated garlic, and one Tbl. of the curry seasoning. I also didn't rub it on the meat. I added it to the oil and cooked to release the aromas, then carrots and onions, then chicken ect. I used two sweet potatoes instead of regular. This recipe dosent say what kind of curry powder to use. The one I have is called "hot madas curry powder" it's a McCormick seasoning. I like it. Hope this helps ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Ok. but nothing I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Is it authentic? No. Does it taste great? Yes. The only change I made was to use skinless, boneless chicken breasts. It even passed my “I-hate-anything-with-onions-in-it” adult son test. They are so soft and flavorful he didn’t even know they were there. I like some of the variations I’ve read about in the reviews: carrots, celery, peas, mushrooms – again, not authentic but you’ve got to think outside the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Kind of bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was a great basic recipe to get me to make this dish I remember my mom making when I was a kid. I did boneless chicken instead of whole chicken, omitted potatoes in favor of rice. I also added celery to the onion mix, and chopped granny smith apple as well. Now that i know the basic, I can figure out a similar recipe for shrimp, perhaps using cream of celery soup. As far as authentic goes, what the hey, spaghetti and meatballs is not Italian either, but it sure tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was my first time making a curry and it was very easy not too time consuming. Who cares that its not a traditional curry its still really good. I added coconut milk to it made it creamy and smooth. Also added some red pepper for heat. Thanks for the recipe its YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
easy recipe... i added sweet peas, for a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Easy to make and excellent curry. I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces instead of whole chicken. I also added some baby carrots and frozen peas with the potato. I've made this a number of times and varied the quantity of curry powder so I can say that 3 tbsp = mild; 4 tbsp = medium and 5 tbsp gives you a hot curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States