Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I followed the instructions up to adding the chicken, then dumped everything in a crockpot with 5 chicken breasts, used less water, cooked all day long until the chicken fell apart. Skipped the lemon, brushed some pita breads with garlic/cilantro butter, stuck them under the broiler until golden, served with toasted almonds sprinkled over the curry and basmati rice. Turned out very good and super easy. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
The best curry I ever made. I did make a few changes though. I ommited the cayenne because I used hot curry powder and I also added a table spoon of cumin and a 1/2 c of plain yogurt. I also, took the tip from another reviewer and thickened it up with corn starch. I then put this in the oven and cooked at 200F for 3 hours. It came out so tender and flavorful. This is my new curry recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaigeCentral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I love chicken curry...(my mother-in-law is Queen Curry..her beef and chicken curry dishes are beyond compare), but I'm glad you posted this one Colleen. Now I can claim I know how to make this wonderful dish. The cinnamon is a must..it gives off a unique flavor not acquired by other spices. We usually use a cinnamon stick instead of the powder and don't remove it. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I have a boyfriend who is 1/2 Indian. He was so surprised when I made this along with Indian Dahl with Spinach (also on this site) which was also wonderful. He said it tasted very authentic and came quite close to his own mother's ... Now that's a compliment !!! I loved it as well. I did add more cayenne than it said though and more curry than it said, and crushed red pepper as we both like spicy food. I recommend it highly !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts which I browned in olive oil with the onions...I added extra cayenne, black pepper, and two pinches of salt...I alos went heavy on the ginger, cinnamon, and red curry powder...at the end I used one potato which I diced really tiny and a splash of lime juice...WONDERFUL!!! I come from a long line of southern creole/cajun cooks and my husband is used to that kind of food...after his millionth bite, he told me that this is DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Fantastic recipe, I've been searching for a hearty curry like this for a long time! I followed others advice by only putting in 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and using chicken stock rather than water, I also blended the onions into a paste rather than frying them chopped. I added cornflour to thicken and organic half fat yoghurt to mellow the spices. There's lots of disgreement about spicyness - I like mild curries so I thought this was quite spicy, it your pallet is more suited to super hot then you probably need to add hotter/more curry powder and cayenne pepper. Fantastic, I will definitely use again and would use to entertain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I read several reviews and compared several recipes before making. Quite a few thought this recipe was bland so I made a few changes. I used this as my main recipe and took a few hints from Curry Chicken II. I used about 3lbs of wingettes(only chicken I had on hand.) I made the following changes according to Curry Chicken II - 4.5T of curry powder and 1 can each of chicken broth and cream of chicken soup(instead of water to cover) I also added a dash of accent and a lot more than a dash of Goya's Adobe and a creole seasoning instead of salt. (I did not use any cayenne pepper because my curry powder was HOT). I omitted the ginger(didnt have any), and I omitted the lemon and tomato paste(just over looked them while toggling between recipes. However, mine was so good I doubt I add them in the future) I cooked in a crock pot for about 6 hours on low. I added in potatoes half way through. At the end I thickened my sauce with corn starch. Served over rice. This was to die for!!!!! I have definitely found my curry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This does not taste like Indian curry at all but it is still delicious. I've omitted the tomato paste and lemon, and added 2 potatoes and some carrots. I use a few extra garlic cloves, and lot more salt as well (a pinch is not enough). I also use boneless chicken tenders. I suggest simmering this for an hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
It is a good recipe but a little bland I added some 1/2 cup yogart and 2 drops of coconut extract kicked up the giner and garlic and add some more curry powder 2 bags of frozen veggies and it was great I would definatley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I made this for a group of friends. I wanted to try out a curry dish. I followed the recipe as is. It went over pretty well and was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States