Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was pretty darn good. It tasted authentic without using any of the real genuine Indian ingredients one would expect. My family enjoyed it. My only complaint was that following the recipe closely you don't wind up with that much gravy or at least I didn't. Next time I would double everything at least. Tks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This turned out amazingly scrummptious...all i did different was use chicken broth instead of water...and used season salt instead of regular salt...I put this in my favs for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Tasted pretty good, was VERY easy to make. I will make again with a little less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This curry chicken recipe is delicious!! i followed the directions to the tee and it came out great! Next time I might try a few variations such as adding potatoes and carrots to the pot and maybe cutting down the cinnamon to 1/4 of a teaspoon, the flavor was very strong, but other than that, it was a crowd pleaser!! I am definitely making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmartinez7974

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I was excited to try the recipe, but it didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was still good, but needed some body to it...I may thicken it up next time as some others have suggested, or may add coconut milk and a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I used the slow-cooker like other recommended and added some extra salt for taste. I served it with brown rice topped with toasted almonds and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very good. I made it in the crock pot and the chicken turned out so tender and delicious! It had good flavor, but the sauce was a bit thin and oily. I would make it again with a few tweaks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great base recipe. But I took a bunch of the suggestions from the reviews and added some spices to round out the flavor...Tumeric, Cumin Seed, Also I added an entire head of cauliflower and a bag of frozen peas (because I've had veggie curry and it usually contains those veggies) which produced twice the food and made it a fuller meal! Because I added the veggies of course I had to just about double all the spices/liquid. Also added 3/4 cup plain yogurt which made the sauce a bit thicker and creamier. My hubby LOVED this curry and I will definitely use this recipe over and over and over. Goes great with a chilled bottle of wine--GREAT suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I found this recipe to be extremely bland. Curry is all about strong, distinctive flavours and this barely tasted of anything to me. I ended up adding ground coriander, black pepper, double the salt, turmeric, garam masala and extra cayenne to taste to give this recipe the kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I read the many great reviews of this curry. When I made a batch, I couldn't have been more disappointed. It had a mediocre flavor, and the texture was not right, it was too thick. I made another batch and left out the tomato paste, but to no avail. Any curry I have ever had at an Indian restaurant is better than this stuff, and I have eaten in at least 50 Indian restaurants, and I always get curry. But, all is not lost. Yesterday in the big health food store I found pre mixed curry sauce! This is made by Maya Kaimal. It is a 15 ounce plastic jar, costs about $5. Save yourself the time and trouble of making the on this recipe, and buy yourself a jar of Maya Kaimal, you will be delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States