Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very good and easy and flexible. I added a can of diced tomatoes instead of the paste as that's what I had on hand. I added a potato, carrots, and celery too. It made a great meal of the two chicken breasts I had when we had unexpected dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe! I did make a few changes, as suggest by other reviewers...only 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 cup of organic plain yogurt, and I baked it in the oven for 3 hours at 200F. I made a few tweaks myself...instead of 2 cups of water, I used 1 cup chicken broth (2 satchels of chicken bouillon in 1 cup of water) and 1 cup of coconut milk. The coconut milk, along with the yogurt gave it a more creamier taste. I also omitted the tomato paste. It was very simple and quick to make. This will definitely be added to my weekly rotation! Thanks for making this available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Two things!!! 1.you will need to cook this dish a long time and 2. use chicken stock to cook in. I used a whole cut up chicken and was nervous about the amount of water I needed to cover the pieces. I thought that the taste at that point was not very strong so I added chicken boullion cubes to the water. Later...much later about 2 hours I was pleased to see that it had boiled down enough to be called a sauce and not soup...I added a handful of raisens and a chopped carrot and pepper to the sauce. The end result was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was excellent. I just made this tonight. I ran out of curry powder so I only used about 1 tablespoon and I didn't have ground ginger so I had to use fresh. I also used Thai Coconut Curry Chicken broth instead of water. After it was all done I thickened it and served it over white rice that I also cooked with the Thai Coconut Curry broth instead of water. So so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
We really enjoyed this! I used fresh ginger and used chicken breasts cut into big chunks. I followed some of the tips here and added more water so we had plenty of sauce and reduced the cinnimon a bit. I also used spicy curry powder so I didn't add pepper at the end. Also - i scopped out a 1/2 cup of sauce and 1/2 cup of plain yogurt - mix together in a small bowl and drizzle over the top. it makes it for a pretty presentation and adds a tart zing. I will add veggies next time - it needs some green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was my first curry dish from scratch. It tasted great and everyone enjoyed it. However, one person asked if there was cinnamon in it, and after I responded yes...it was all they seemed to taste. Maybe next time I will put just a tiny bit less of it. Still...it was Delicious with some potatoes, carrots, baby corn, bamboo, water chestnuts, and peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Recipe was not that bad i had to change some things though..I suggest adding less cinnamin then called for, mine had an overwhelming cinnamin flavor when finished. I also had to add way more salt then called for. To kill the cinnamin flavor we added a couple of dashes of tabasco to our bowl and that really set it off! Overall it was good, i have never had curry before so wasn't sure what to expect but i will stick w/ those changes aforementioned. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
We eat a lot of curry and I thought this was really good and easy. This works alone over rice or as a basic recipe to which you can add any assortment of veggies. I made it with chicken thighs, removed the skin, browned and then use the pan drippings in place of the oil. I also used chicken stock instead of water. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This recipe is so delicious my family raves about it every time. I always add a cup of plain yoghurt and a tablespoon on cumin. I also use a couple of dashes more of garlic powder and salt. It's really good with flavored rice (add chicken bouillon cube with cinnamon sticks, cloves, and curry powder to water before the water boils. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
A good base curry, but I felt as if it could have more flavor. Indian food is wonderful because of the rich-flavors common in the dishes; this one felt a little too tame and not because it wasn't spicy. I might add more ginger or possibly even chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States