Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
First review on allrecipes. I love curry have never cooked it so I used this as my starting point. I doubled the chicken and added a little extra curry and cayenne. I also added broccoli and carrots at the end. I wanted the vegis to be al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I have made this dish several times. First, I use chicken breasts cut into cubes instead of a whole chicken. The dish is AMAZING! I have never made it and not wanted more. The time for making this dish is completely off if done right with fresh ingredients. If you do the simple math on the cooking time alone it adds up to more than 20 minutes (not including the actual time it takes to brown the onions.) Prep time is way off. By the time you chop 3 onions, measure out the spices, juice 1/2 a lemon, and cut chicken into pieces, you are WELL over the 10 minute prep time stated. If you are going to make this dish, it is MOST DEFINITELY worth the time invested in it and is fun to make. Just don't kid yourself and think dinner will be done in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was my first curry recipe and it was so easy to make. I did make one alteration to the recipe. I cooked the onions and spices together on the stove but then I put the chicken in the crock pot with onions and spice mixture on top of the chicken. Then I added a couple of cups of water, cooked on high for a few hours until the chicken fell off the bone. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
YUM-E. Will make again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I used one large sweet onion and about 2 t grated fresh ginger, omitted the sugar, and added 1 c coconut milk yogurt (which is naturally sweet) and 1/2 c diced red, orange, and yellow peppers. I also used corn oil instead of olive oil to fry the onions. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was the first time I had ever even SEEN curry, I only made it because my boyfriend had been begging me to. It was amazing! I served it over jasmine rice, and had chocolate cheesecake for dessert to mellow out the spiciness. I was short on curry so I only used 1 1/2 T, and added extra of all the spices. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I used granulated instead, and used my crockpot so the chicken would fall apart. SO GOOD!! we finished eating an hour ago and he keeps going back for more - definitely a keeper! I loved the lemon at the end, perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
To thicken, instead of cornstarch and water, try mashing some boiled potatoes in coconut milk to make a paste - I used my hand blender, and it worked great! Good recipe, simply add more or less of the seasonings to appeal to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It was ok. I used alot of suggestions from other viewers. No one left clear measurements for the tumeric, and cumin. So i just winged it. I used a about 1.5 table of each. The dish is still missing something. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Love this recipe! I made with chicken breasts cut up into bite sized cubes. A hint to cut down on prep time is to use frozen breasts cut when slightly frozen. Will cut prep time on this recipe in half. No need to cook an entire bird. Also cuts down on the fat without losing an bit of flavor. I added another dash or 2 of curry and a bit more spice but this is an excellent recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I omitted one thing (ginger) and I think that's where I made my mistake. My husband and brother thought it was too cinnamon-y though I enjoyed it and the lemon definitely made the spice pop. Also, I think I cooked it too long because the gravy was way too thin. I'll definitely try again, without omitting a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States