Chicken Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I am giving this a 5 star in spite of the fact that I made changes, simply because it is an EXCELLENT base, and also what I have been searching for as far as a recipe that I had eaten at a local restaurant. I personally cooked the chicken pieces in onion and garlic. I poured the chicken/onion/garlic into two cans of condensed cream of chicken soups and 1/2 C white wine.I added shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream. I then added cheese on top and mixed the cracker crumbs with butter and put them on top of the cheese. My daughter loved it. Very, very flavorful meal!!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
this has been a family favorite for years!! My aunt was the first to make this for christmas, maybe 8 years ago and since no one had a name for it, it became Val's (my aunts name) chicken. I actually made this 2 days ago to bring as a dish to work and everyone loved it there as well! What I do to my dish is buy chicken breast on the bone, clean it, take off the skin, sprinkle sea salt on the breasts and let it sit for 10 minutes. While they are sitting, I boil water on the stove and cook the breasts for an hour. I also usually use 2 large breasts and double the soup and sour cream (2 cans cream of mushroom, 16 oz. container of sour cream). I cant say I've used ritz crackers before, I always use the blue bag of Pepperidge farm stuffing (2 cups) with 1/2 stick of melted butter. By doubling the soup and sour cream you can go up to 4 breasts if you dont like alot of sauce or stick to 2 large breasts if you want extra sauce (which is good to serve with a side of egg noodles). My other aunt who also makes this recipe uses 2 chicken breasts and 2 chicken thighs because she finds the chicken breast only is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This has been one of my kids' favorites for a long time, but I make it just a little differently. I melt a large package of cream cheese in the microwave and mix it with a can of cream of chicken soup. I shred the chicken and put it in the dish first, then I put the cream cheese/soup mixture on top. Then I crunch up Club crackers and drizzle melted butter on top. You can make this lower fat by using non-fat or lowfat cream cheese & soup, and reduced fat crackers. It still tastes really good. I've not found a way around using the butter and still get the same flavor (I love the taste of butter), but this at least helps with the fat content. I also sprinkle a little garlic powder into it. My kids, and all of their friends who have had it, love it!! Very kid-friendly dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I've reviewed this once before..(loved it then and still love it now).. I just wanted to add that the last time I made this, when I made up the sauce, I also mixed in about half a small bag of frozen peas then continued with the recipe as called for. It was delicious!.. tasted like a chicken pot pie.. I will never make it without the peas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
OH GIRL...Are you serious. My gawd that chicken is good. I doubled the recipe, cuz I'm a big girl and like a lot of food. I used boneless thighs instead -- the dark meat is better! I fried the chicken a little before I put it in the casserole, and added some brown suga, of course!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brnsuga

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I scaled this down for two adults but made some changes along the way. I used two chicken breasts and used a smaller baking dish than recommended. To cut down on the richness, I used only about 2 oz of sour cream. I added garlic salt and pepper. I put in chopped up carrots, celery and some canned potatos I had. This was delicious! Thank you for sharing! Definitely reminiscent of chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This casserole is very good, however, next time I will make it in a smaller dish. I used 3 pieces of chicken and it still seemed like the 9x12 dish was WAY too big. It's a great casserole but realized that it's best to eat most of it right away, when the cracker topping is crunchy. Doesn't work too well as a left-over (i.e. - lunch during the week) as the crackers got very mushy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe is SOOOO good and easy. A great comfort food that my finicky husband (who never likes anything) loved. Easy to make lower in fat by using low fat cream of chicken soup, crackers, sour cream, and butter. I didn't notice a huge drop in taste for the fat savings. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
i have added some veg and less crakers, it turns out ok, very strong taste from the soup and a little dry(not enough sauce), next time i will mix the soup and cream with a little more milk and water!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Very easy & tasty! Substituted cream of mushroom for the soup and seasoned the chicken w/garlic powder and oregano before combining w/other ingredients. My hubby loved it and ate seconds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States