Chicken Costa Brava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I scaled this recipe in half for just two of us; even so, we'll still have leftovers. I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces as others advised. Added about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper, but I would definitely double the cumin-cinnamon seasoning if I were to make this again. Served over steamed brown basmati rice. Thanks for sharing, ChristyJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I'll admit that I was very wary of the combination of the ingredients. I was pleasantly surprised, as were my dinner guests. The word to describe this dish is complex. As others have noted, every bite is different, but they work together. It definitely will get the guests talking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This recipe is awesome!! I serve it over white rice. There is a different flavor with every bite and never any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I added mandarin oranges, green olives, and curry to this wonderful dish. I could've eaten the sauce alone, it was so chuncky and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was very tasty, but I must admit that I mostly used a different recipe for Chicken Costa Brava that I found in an old cookbook. All of the ingredients are the same, but some of the quantities are different: 2 whole chicken breasts instead of 5, 8 oz of tomatoes instead of 14.5, 1 cup of salsa instead of 1/2 cup, 2 tsp of cornstarch instead of 2 tbsp, and a mixture of black and green olives instead of 2 cups of black. I used a medium-heat salsa, and whole tomatoes that I crushed before adding. I wonder if maybe it was these small differences that kept mine from being "bland," as some people are complaining? Anyway, the fella liked it - the pineapple bits were particularly spicy and tangy and delicious - so next time I'll make it the Allrecipes way and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
I am glad my family likes to try different international dishes or I would have never made this wonderful chicken dish! It is so good! I used a whole chicken, and the only complaint was that some of the pieces (like the wings)were hard to pick up and eat because of the great sauce that covers the chicken. I will try boneless breats cut into strips next time I make it, which will probably be very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
OMG!! This is SOOOO good!! The only changes that I made were to add extra onion (we love them) and leave out the corn starch. Try it ~ You won't be sorry!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This was a very attractive dish. I used half the olives and found there were still plenty. The dish does have an unusual flavour but it is still very good. It would be a nice addition to a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Sweet and spicy! Fantastic flavor combination; even the BF who usually forgoes spicy foods said this was a winner. Earlier suggestions to cut chicken into bite-sized pieces seem to be a good idea, as we liked this over rice and it would've made it a little neater to eat. All in all a delicious meal. Thanks for this submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Wonderful only minor changes i used Italian style stewed tomatoes and I made 3 serving instead of 10. Served it with white rice tried it over the rice and then tossed the rice into the pan to try for 2nds and tossing it was better but its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States