Chicken Costa Brava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was an excellent blend of flavors. No one in the house likes olives, so we subbed in some marinated artichoke hearts because we had some to get rid of, and wanted to make sure we kept the saltiness flavor at least somewhat present. I also used two tsp of cumin, cinnamon, and smoked sweet paprika. Looking back, for using only 3 breasts, that much spice sounds a bit crazy but it made the sauce absolutely amazing. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! We eat it ALL the time now. We eat it with rice rather than noodles and it is our new fav! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Delish! I wasn't sure how I would feel about this dish, but I was thoroughly impressed. Tasty yet fairly easy to make! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RugbyNLucky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this recipe using the changes from Zelda Sayre, posted on 1/9/08, and it was perfect! I did not increase the salsa to 1 cup like she says, but left it at 1/2 cup, and it was just enough to give it a kick without overwhelming the other flavors. The amount of chicken needs to be decreased, or the spices increased. I actually made it in the pressure cooker, so, after browning the chicken and adding the other ingredients (except the pineapple and cornstarch) I closed the cooker, brought it to pressure, and 10 minutes later it was ready, with only the sauce needing to be thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I liked the combination of the salty olives and the sweet pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This unlikely set of ingredients leads to a totally satisfying dish - the combo of sweet, spicy, tangy, and salty is perfect. I stirred in about 2 tbsp of nonfat sour cream at the end of cooking to thicken and I liked the creamier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was pretty good, but for me the sweetness just didn't set right. Obviously, I knew it would be sweet when I read the ingredients, but I was curious. There is nothing wrong with the recipe. We just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was really great. I used three chicken breast halves, a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks and a 10 oz can of olives. Only 4 stars because the wife didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was great the first time I made it, which was strictly by the recipe. It was also great the second time when I allowed myself to "measure" less accurately. I really like it for Pot Luck dinners with plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This dish is so delicious! I prepared it with both chicken thighs (skin off) and breasts, the thighs were definitely a lot better in this dish, and I usually prefer breast. I followed the recipe pretty much to the "t", however i did NOT add all the recommended salsa, because I didn't want to have a "salsa" taste-salsa tends to be over-powering when added to sauces. I only used about 1 tbspn. And I did not add pineapples, only the juice (the juice is absolutely needed to add sweetness to the sauce, which is needed from all the acid from the tomatoes). I added a hint more cinnamon and cumin than called for. My entire family loved this! Left overs are even better the next day! I think next time I will add chunks of potatoes to this meal instead of the rice. You should def try this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States