Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Loved it!!!! All of us gave it rave reviews! Mashed up some of the potato and added back to thicken. Didn't have chicken carcass so boiled some breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I modified this recipe as others have suggested (thanks!). I sauteed the onion and shallots in butter in a soup pot, then added four chicken breasts with all fat removed, a 32 oz box of chicken broth, additional water to cover chicken (about 2 cups), and boiled until the chicken was cooked and tender. Then I shredded the chicken with two forks right in the pot. I added 2% milk to reach the desired consistency, and also added thyme, onion powder, scant cayenne pepper, and a dash or oregano; I upped the potatoes to 4, and simmered for 45 mins. to let soup thicken and flavors meld. We served the soup with finely shredded 2% milk cheddar on top. Not a true chowder but quite delicious, and definitely not a bad bet calorie-wise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill in Ankeny, IA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is a pretty good basic recipe but I felt it was a little too vague. Like a lot of others I wasn't sure about how much water to use so I ended up with too much and a thin soup. So I added some dried potatoes and also some corn starch dissolved in water, and added more cream than the recipe called for. I skipped the bouillon because my broth was tasty without it but added extra black pepper and some seasoned salt. After the modifications it was reallllly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was very good, although I did alter the recipe a bit to make it healthier. I used 3 cups skim milk and 2 cups of chicken broth, then added my potatoes, corn (a mixture of sweet corn and regular corn), and spices. I sauteed the onion with cut up chicken breasts, then added that to the soup. I also added several dashes of thyme, oregano, and onion powder. If you let this soup simmer for about an hour, the potatoes become mealy and thicken the soup tremendously without having to use heavy cream as the thickener. I felt that it needed quite a bit of pepper, which was nicely offset by the sweet corn. My whole family enjoyed this chowder and I'll gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
GREAT flavor. I was really discouraged at how thin mine turned out though. There was no instructions on how much broth to use. So... I took some of the broth, dissolved a bunch of flour and added it to the soup. Plus I doubled the cream. Good... but not as thick as chowder should be. BUT the flavor was so good I'm still rating it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS ADDING A LITTLE MORE CREAM. THE TASTE WAS FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I was really disappointed that there wasn't more flavor to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I added mashed potato flakes to thicken it up a bit and used fat free half & half. Canned corn also works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARMABUMX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I found this recipe confusing as the method does not give instructions on how much broth to use - so the ratio of 2 tbsp of heavy cream may be skewed depending on how much broth is used. This is probably why my soup came out very thin - not at all chowder-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States