Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was a really tasty chowder! Even my daughter who is not a corn eater liked it very much! It was so yummy and it fed us (3) for days when it was coooold...excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
husband liked it a lot(after eating cambell's version all these years) the ingriedients were easy to come buy(used up all that corn in the freezer!) and i cooked 3 huge chicken legs in the crock pot filled with water all day and used the broth from that. Kept everything else the same, turned out great! Husband liked it better when it thickened up the second day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
What a great recipe. This is a hearty chowder is full of fresh vegtables. Is a light bodied chowder. Will make this as a standard meal in cold months to come. A very healthy choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I found this recipe confusing as the method does not give instructions on how much broth to use - so the ratio of 2 tbsp of heavy cream may be skewed depending on how much broth is used. This is probably why my soup came out very thin - not at all chowder-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I added mashed potato flakes to thicken it up a bit and used fat free half & half. Canned corn also works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARMABUMX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I was really disappointed that there wasn't more flavor to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS ADDING A LITTLE MORE CREAM. THE TASTE WAS FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
GREAT flavor. I was really discouraged at how thin mine turned out though. There was no instructions on how much broth to use. So... I took some of the broth, dissolved a bunch of flour and added it to the soup. Plus I doubled the cream. Good... but not as thick as chowder should be. BUT the flavor was so good I'm still rating it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was very good, although I did alter the recipe a bit to make it healthier. I used 3 cups skim milk and 2 cups of chicken broth, then added my potatoes, corn (a mixture of sweet corn and regular corn), and spices. I sauteed the onion with cut up chicken breasts, then added that to the soup. I also added several dashes of thyme, oregano, and onion powder. If you let this soup simmer for about an hour, the potatoes become mealy and thicken the soup tremendously without having to use heavy cream as the thickener. I felt that it needed quite a bit of pepper, which was nicely offset by the sweet corn. My whole family enjoyed this chowder and I'll gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States