Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very tasty! I'm trying to cut calories, so I used fat free sour cream and some low fat milk instead of the cream, and it was still delicious. I also refrigerated the broth after cooking so that it was easier to skim more of the fat from the top and then strained it a second time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Really great way to use leftover rotisserie chicken from the grocery...I added bacon by browning two slices in a pan and then used the grease to sautee my onion. I chopped the bacon and added it in with the potatoes, corn etc....delicious! The slight hint of smokiness from it really added depth to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was fantastic. Need to thicken in a hurry? Cut up one of the potatoes very small and add to onion butter mixture with a half cup of water. When potato chunks are soft, mash them up into a paste and add 1 T of flour. Mix well and then slowly add 2 c of milk and simmer. This will thicken nicely. Then add other ingredients as indicated. Also, I used milk instead of cream (skim is fine) and roasted chicken breasts cut up. Throw the bay leaf in the whole mixture. Add more milk as needed to desired thickness. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Wow, this was seriously yummy. I didn't make enough of it! I only used three little potatoes (as I am trying to not use too much food in one go) and I think I only put a cup full of frozen corn in because that's all I had... I also omitted the shallots because I didn't have any, but everything else went in! The taste was to die for! I added a little bit of instant mashed potato like someone else mentioned to thicken it slightly. My boyfriend and daughter gave it a 10! I considered adding diced carrot but I wasnt sure what it would turn out like, so I will do that next time. For those who say that they didn't know how much water/stock to put in, I almost covered the chicken carcass, then I added more stock until the pan was half full. Should have added more then it would have lasted longer! Oh well.....! I didn't use cream, just skim milk and that instant potato like someone else recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I used one large sweet potato, because I didn't have any other potatoes, and it turned out great. Slightly sweet and very yummy. I also used half and half thickened with flour to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I absolutely loved this. I used chicken breasts instead of a carcass, boiled in broth and water for 2 hours. I also added some sliced carrot for color. Very easy to make. Great fall dish, thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Love this soup! While my potatoes are cooking I sometimes add the rind of a parmesan for extra flavor. Oncce I realized I didn't have heavy cream and it was just as tasty with skim milk and a cup of instant potatoes to thicken it. This is also a great way to use leftover rotisserie or baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelRoma
Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
really good. I used skim milk and no cream put my hand blender in and pulsed a few time , thickend it up well w/o adding fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I omitted the shallots and added more bouillon. Turned out perfect. My Husband took a big container to work the next day and shared it with some friends, they all loved it also. Great recipe and a hearty filling soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States