Chicken Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
The flavor was not as full as I like. The corn as whole kernel is fine. Creamed corn is used in basic corn chowder per old northeast recipes for bolder taste. Salt pork chopped up pieces cooked in pan chowder is made and onions added into during frying adds bolder flavor. The chowder was not as creamy as northeastern chowder but fine. As with everything it is to individual taste and eating style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I didn't have a chicken carcass on hand so, like another reviewer, I boiled 3 large chicken breasts in 32 oz of chicken broth (plus 1 cup water). After the chicken was done, I took out the chicken and strained the broth into a separate bowl. Then I sauteed 1/2 an onion with 3 minced garlic cloves. After the onions turned translucent, I added the chicken, broth and other ingredients into the pot. While the soup was simmering, I added 1 tablespoon of parsley, 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme and a dash of cayenne pepper. To thicken the soup without adding extra calories, I blended some of the broth, corn and tender potatoes together. This thickened the soup to a more traditional chowder consistency and added a wonderful color. Taste the soup when finished -- you may feel that a little salt is needed. Adding about 1/2 teaspoon of Lawry's seasoning took the soup from bland to tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I followed the directions of the recipe exactly, but found the recipe did not mention how big the chicken should be. My chicken was average but a lot of water was so the need which makes more broth then you need more vegetables and more half and half. I did not like this recipe very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Good, but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Loved it. Easy and quick to make. Added about 1 tsp of thyme, oregano and onion powder each, additional 1/2 cup corn and two more tablespoons of heavy cream. Mmmmmm my husband and I lapped it up enthusiastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My husband loves chicken corn chowder so I made this for him. I had to add chicken broth and cook it down as there was way too much stock. Also I added a whole bag of corn and 2 chicken breasts instead of using meat from the carcass. We topped it with bacon and shredded cheese and crumbled up some Jiffy cornbread on the top...everybody went back for seconds. Great recipe if you take your time with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
super runny otherwise taste is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
perfect for a cold winter day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Corona Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This chowder is wonderful! I took the advice of some previous reviewers and changed a few things. I cooked onions, garlic, and carrots (didn't use the shallots) in olive oil. I used two pounds of chicken breast and boiled them in 32 oz of chicken broth and I added in the onion/carrot mixture once the broth was boiling. Once the chicken was cooked I shredded it and added in the potatoes and corn. I used four potatoes and a bag of corn. It cooked closer to 30 minutes, and I continued to add chicken broth while it cooked since the broth seemed to be soaking into the chicken and vegies. I also used more cream than called for-but it made it that much tastier! Look forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a good bowl of chowder! Like everyone, we made a few changes: added 1-cup of sliced carrots, 1-cup of diced celery, I was onion-crying too much to cut a shallot. The chicken (one pound, tenderloins) were cooked with a healthy coating (on each side) from McCormick’s Garlic Pepper Seasoning Grinder. We used two large baking potatoes and a bag of Steamfresh Southwestern Corn (which has light seasoning)—covered it all in (light) chicken broth then added a pound bag of steamed then pureed cauliflower. Liberally used salt and pepper…my boyfriend claimed all the leftovers (but I did get a small bowl for lunch--which received four compliments for smelling amazing)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mainland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States