Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I was looking so forward to trying this recipe, but was just a bit disappointed with the result. It looks delicious - just like the picture - but its taste is a bit bland. For the amount of time it took to make and the cost of the Gruyere cheese, I think I'll stick to my chicken roll-ups which use chicken, Swiss cheese, ham, and seasoned bread crumbs and then baked and topped with mushrooms lightly fried in garlic olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Galbraith
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe! We loved the simplicity of the recipe whilst incorporating all of our favourite chicken cordon bleu flavours. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Galbraith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Friday nights before Scout camp-outs are always rushed and I'm constantly looking for quick Grab and Go hand foods that still pack some substance. I used 6" French Rolls from the bakery and doubled the recipe to make 8 open faced sandwiches. My Husband says "These are great! 5 stars!" I did use the Gruyere cheese which I have never bought before. Both of my sons were holding their shirts over their noses saying they stink, so I was afraid they wouldn't eat them at all. Well...One son ate 3, the other ate 2. My husband had 2 and then came back in the kitchen and snagged the last one before I got the chance to taste it! I never even got to take a picture of them they were gone so fast! Since Gruyere is so expensive, and according to my 16 y/o smells like stinky feet, I may just use Swiss next time. I'll have to set one to the side for myself next time before calling in the hoards. According to the guys' reactions, there will definitely be a next time. Keep 'em comin' Chef John, you've saved dinner more than once at our place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Mitchell, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
After two trips to local markets I struck out on the proper cheese. I used a blend of shredded cheeses and,the recipe was a solid 4 stars. The only thing, this recipe, in my opinion, is not half the work of chicken cordon bleu. Very good anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Fantastic!!! I love chicken cordon bleu and this is a simple, delicious version of that dish. I followed it to the letter with one exception, I left out the pickle as I don't care for them. But I served some diced pickle on the side for those in my family who enjoy it. Thanks Chef John for another winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by subracer
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used chef john's french baguette recipe with this and received rave reviews from the wife. We plan to serve at our holiday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I thought this recipe was fantastic as are all chef johns recipes, keep em coming john, and as always, enjoy :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
My husband made exactly as it and we thought it was delicious. It was quite salty next time we will leave out the extra salt. It also had a lot of pickle taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is good even without the red and black pepper. I use dried basil as a black pepper replacement. 2 of us in our card party club can't handle pepper, so we have found substitutes. Basil works great. This is quick and easy on homemade bread too. A little green salad and you have a great supper. Thanks, again for the great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent!! Why or why do people write that the recipe was wonderful than give it three or four stars because they don't have the type of cheese called for in recipe. If the recipe is pleasing, please don't give it less stars just because you don't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States