Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent!! Why or why do people write that the recipe was wonderful than give it three or four stars because they don't have the type of cheese called for in recipe. If the recipe is pleasing, please don't give it less stars just because you don't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Just made it for my family of five last night. I just started cooking, but my father ( a very good, trained chef in my opinion) said it was restaurant quality. I TRIPLED the recipe and there was not one bit of leftovers. However, I used sharp cheddar rather than Gruyere (a Vermonters spin on it) and instead of doing individual sandwiches I hollowed out a big loaf of artisan bread and stuffed it with the cheese sauce. We cut it into sections and had it with a side of steamed broccoli in a sharp cheddar cheese sauce. Absolutely amazing. I will definitely make this dish a regular one. It's affordable, it's quick, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnkiPan
Living In: Lyndonville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So, this is going to sound a little weird, but I just made this into a casserole. My kitchen is almost bare, but I had chicken breasts and my husband loves chicken cordon bleu, so I decided to try and cobble something together. Hubby gave it a "very good" so I thought I'd share! I followed the directions, for the most part, but I only had Buddig ham sandwich meat and some Irish cheddar or something (the wrapper is gone, so I'm not sure. It was just a very sharp cheese!). I doubled the recipe and used panko bread crumbs with the butter as a base in a 7x11 glass pan, chopped chicken next, and then my crazy ham & cheese mixture. As I said, I followed the directions, but didn't have Dijon so I mixed some yellow mustard with a bit of dry mustard. I poured/spooned the mix over the chicken and topped it off with another layer of panko, and in the oven it went! I like it fairly well myself, but I have a low spice tolerance so I'd probably do a little less mustard next time, and I admittedly went a little crazy with the panko XD but overall it's a success, more than just edible, and I definitely want to have it with french bread and "real" ham sometime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this just as directed by Chef John, and everyone loved them. They made the perfect lunch for us as we greeted out-of-town visitors. I did think that they were just a tad on the bland side, a fact that could be that I used some Honeybaked ham rather than the smoked ham called for. I am surprised that Chef didn't add a little cayenne to this, since that is present in so many of his recipes! :) I would definitely recommend this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe to as written...delicious!!! Couldn't find Gruyere cheese at my small town grocery store, so just used Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Really good as is, but next time maybe I'll add some hot sauce to bring it to a sharper taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this dish last night, it was absolutely delicious! My son devoured almost eight inches worth of the entire loaf. Thanks for sharing??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is good even without the red and black pepper. I use dried basil as a black pepper replacement. 2 of us in our card party club can't handle pepper, so we have found substitutes. Basil works great. This is quick and easy on homemade bread too. A little green salad and you have a great supper. Thanks, again for the great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Found we liked it best without the pickles and the onion. I think I used just a dash of the Dijon mustard. Also made this on sliced bread. Although I'm sure it would be wonderful on a French loaf as well. We didn't have gruyere so I used a sharp cheddar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Galbraith
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe! We loved the simplicity of the recipe whilst incorporating all of our favourite chicken cordon bleu flavours. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Galbraith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States