Chicken Cordon Bleu II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is very good -- but I'd recommend a few changes. First, pound the breasts to half-inch thickness at least (this will let you reduce the 30 min cook time to about 15, max). Then, reduce fat a little by using half butter and half olive oil when you brown (3 tbsp. of each). Oil will keep the butter from burning, too. Third, if you want to eliminate wine, just use 1/2 cup chicken broth (from a can, if needed) -- or just use salted water. No big deal. Last, when I blend the cream at the last stage, I like to add about 1/4 cup fresh chopped basil to the mix -- serve with chopped fresh basil on top, too - or substitute whatever herb you like (fresh is best, but only add it last).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3917 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I made a few changes to this recipe. First, I brushed the chicken with egg and rolled in breadcrumbs instead of flour. Second, I fried the chicken in butter for about 10 minutes until it was nicely browned, then I put it in the oven at 350 for another 20 minutes. Instead of simmering the chicken in the sauce, I whisked the cream,wine, bouillon and cornstarch in a bowl, then simmered it for about 10 min. alone, and spooned it over the chicken. It turned out fantastic. My fiancee` said this was the best dish I ever made, and he's more of a beef man. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I have to add my 5 stars to this one. I scaled this recipe to 24 for a holiday dinner. All ages LOVED this meal served with rice pilaf and roasted asparagus and quartered bella mushroomsi. I recommend an oven roasted, no water added ham, and a good quality wine. After making this again recently, I learned that even a small chicken breast, after pounded and filled, is too large a portion. My 6 adult guests could only eat half of theirs. Going forward, I will slice this into 1 inch rounds (much prettier, too) as pictured in photo number 26. Thanks, Behr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1784 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Not to beat a dead horse, but this dish was fantastic. 4 kids ranging in age from 13 to 7, my wife and I ate the whole thing. I decided to prepare the chicken with an egg wash and bread crumb mixture added the paprika to the bread crumbs and a pinch of garlic powder. Pan fried in 3 tbs. of butter on all sides and stuck the pan in a 350 degree oven for 20 mins. Prepared the wine, butter and bullion in a saucepan. Mixed the cornstarch and heavy cream in a separate bowl and added to the wine mixture, stirred with a wisk until it came to a boil and thickened. Sliced the cooked chicken into 1 inch rounds and topped with sauce and fresh parsley. Served with steamed veggies and noodles and a side salad. This will be on the table the next time my in-laws and other dignitaries come to town. Bob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! It was wonderful !!! I did however use deli sliced ham and wrapped the cheese up in it so it would not melt out during cooking. See my photo's - Yummy !!! I will definately be making this again and again. Note: Do NOT sub half and half for heavy whipping cream. You will also want to double the sauce - because it is soooo good - Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
660 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This is an excellent recipe, but I still prefer the look and texture of finishing it in a 350' oven. I use the "smokiest" ham I can buy and spread a little dijon inside the breasts before rolling (the "classical" recipe). I also tie the breasts both ways with orange kite string in small bows. They hold together well and look nice. (And the string never gets lost.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
646 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This chicken is awesome. I exspecially like the white wine sauce. I've tried it with many different wines, and i liked it best with Sauvignon Blanc. Serving it over rice and asparagus makes for a deliciously unified and well-rounded meal. I just tripled the wine and boullion after i took the chicken out and let it cook off a little, then added triple the whipping cream and triple the cornstarch, plus a little paprika for color. Some people point out that the swiss melts out of the chicken, which can be solved by wrapping the swiss in a few thinnly-sliced pieces of ham. This is one of my favorite meals, and it's amazingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Tastes like the fancy restaurant version. This is wonderful, Behr! The only thing I changed was to substitute 3T garlic flavored olive oil for the butter. Used cooking string rather than toothpicks. Doubled the sauce so we could have some with our steamed aparagus. This wine sauce is out of this world! Next time I'll try rolling the chicken in Panko crumbs.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
FANTASTIC chicken recipe!!!!! I've made it several times and the only thing that I do differently is doubling up on the sauce. Which by the way, is out of this world! Try it, I think you'll be very happy you did! Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Awesome! I have made this for my boyfriend and friends several times; they say it is restaurant quality. I bake this in the oven at 350 degrees for approx. 45 minutes, then pour the wine and chicken bouillon mixture on top of the chicken, cover with foil, and continue to bake for another 10 minutes. The wine just makes this recipe. Try it, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States