Chicken Cordon Bleu I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I read the reviews and took the suggestion of some others. First of all, I dipped the chicken in egg wash, then laid the slices of ham and cheese on top. I got a plate and sprinkled breadcrumbs and placed the chicken on it and rolled it from there. I also added a pat of butter on top of each. It came out beautifully and you must use the sauce (which is 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1 tbsp of lemon juice). I put a bed of white rice on the plates, put the chicken cordon blue on top of the rice covered with the cream sauce. A good side dish is buttered rolls, mmm-mhmm! All I can say was that it was such a beautiful presentation and absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3024 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I can't believe this awesome recipe! My boyfriend cannot stop talking about it. I told him I was making it for dinner, and he came home early from work. Then, when he tasted it......he moaned and groaned through the entire meal. He made a comment between each and every bite. He has thanked me over and over for making this for him. I have to say, this recipe made me 'Queen for a Day.' I also dipped the chicken in egg before sprinkling the bread crumbs, and I, too, added a small pat of butter on top of each of the breasts. I will definetely be making this, at least once a month. I used the 'potatoe rounds' recipe from this site, for the side dish. This entire meal turned out soooooooo good. You are a goddess, Kiersten! Thank you so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
927 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Fantastic. My variation includes: add some paprika to the breading, and bread the whole chicken roll, not just the top. I also like to cook my chicken hotter and faster to keep it juicy - 20-25 minutes at 400. Final suggestion: add the honey-mustard sauce from this site's Aussie Chicken recipe (inside the roll and/or as a dipping sauce). It really complements this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
721 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This recipe was absolutley amazing and very easy. I did follow some of the suggestions from previous raters(Mushroom soup sauce:1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup sour cream & 1 tbsp of lemon juice-served on top when finished; coated chicken in egg before adding bread crumbs; cooked at 400 for 25 min and I also added a small pat of butter to each breast before cooking). I would also suggest not to use sandwich ham. Anyway, my boyfriend wants to marry me after tasting this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Very good! I can NEVER get breasts thin enough to roll so I cut breasts in half almost all the way through and laid a piece of Healthy Choice Ham and provolone in the cut; sprinkled Italian breadcrumbs on bottom of dish; laid chicken on top and then sprinkled more bread crumbs on chicken. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Great recipe to make ahead and freeze too! I dip the rolled up chicken in melted butter before rolling in bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Wow! These were looked and tasted wonderful and they were super simple to make. I bought big breasts and pounded them. They were quite easy to roll. I dipped them in egg first and then rolled them in the bread crumbs. I used the other reviewers suggestions and used provolone instead of swiss (just my preference), put a pat of butter on top of each and baked for 25 minutes at 400 degrees. I put a half slice of cheese on top and put it back in for 5 minutes. I also made the sauce recipe (1 can of cream of celery soup, 1/2 cup of sour cream) and spooned it on top. Just lovely - thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
A hit in my family of 5, including a 4 yr old, the pickiest of all...The chicken cooked for 50 minutes..adding to its crispiness..and I didn't use toothpicks to secure them, making them easier to eat. I used sliced cooked ham and processed swiss cheese to cut costs and found it to be a bit salty. I will try this again and again, however, I will cut down the amount of salt. It was totally simple to prepare! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This recipe is incredible! It's so easy and sure to please any crowd. Provolone makes a great substitution for those who dislike swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wonderful. I made this for a dinner party and there were absolutely no negative comments. My family loved it. I followed the directions exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

See how to turn a French classic into a simple sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States