Chicken Cordon Bleu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I took this to a 4th of July party and it was gone in seconds and people were looking for more! I did "tweak" the recipe a bit and it turned out great. I made it with italian style bread crumbs and added salt and pepper to the meat mixture. I also rolled the meatballs in the italian bread crumbs plus grated parmesian cheese before frying them. After I took the meatballs out of the oven I sprinkled some of the parmesian cheese on top. People could not believe I made this from scratch, and I already have requests to make it for the next gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very tasty, although a little dry. I'm glad someone suggested salt and pepper because the ingredients should have listed that since it calls for plain bread crumbs and raw chicken. I added season salt but it still needed a little more. To combat the dryness I made some dipping sauce (suggested by a recipe here for regular chicken cordon bleu): 1 can cream of chicken soup + 1/2 cup sour cream + 1 tsp. lemon juice (or white wine) + 1 T. parmesan cheese. Heated in a small saucepan for a while, and the balls were really good dipped in it! Added just the extra kick they needed. Great recipe, and I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
It was good but if you make them with fine chopped onion and a little shake of tobasco and then roll them in some shake & bake you can put them right in the oven and you don't have to fry them. I used that ranch shake & bake. Ranch dip is good with them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Steve A.
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I'm a big fan of Chicken Cordon Bleu and finding this recipe gave me a new view on the dish. I used fresh ground chicken and instead of diced ham I used cubed ham. I wouldn't recommend this unless you keep the cubed ham out and instead put it with the cheese and make the ball around it. This is more of the tradition Chicken Cordon Bleu roll-up and that's why I did it. However, I also made some with the ham mixed in with the ground chicken and made it the way the recipe suggests. Doing it this way is also very enjoyable, but I recommend sticking with the reciped and dicing the ham and not using the bigger cubes as mentioned before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made these from origional recipe and found them lacking on flavor. I tweaked the recipe to my likeing by adding garlic powder and salt and pepper to the ground chicken beofre adding the ham and it was great. Play with the recipe and just have fun with them. If you find a winner, please share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
i doubled the recipe. left out the ham. and used mozzarella in place of the swiss. then rolled in equal parts parm cheese and italian bread crumbs. before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These turned out REALLY well! This finished product looked like I had spent a ton of time, when I really didn't. I added some spices: paprika, garlic, and onion powder and then rolled the meatballs in bread crumbs with parmesan. Fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
these are very good, but you forgot to include the parmesan flavored bread crumbs to roll the balls in. I remembered that from the article blurb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These were a hit at my house! They were very easy to make and tasted even better the next day. I didn't use the full 8 ounces of cheese though. The recipe calls for 8 ounces of cheese cut into 1/2 inch squares, but 8 ounces makes a whole lot more than 12 squares (the serving size was 12). I just cut 12 1/2 inch pieces and had some cheese leftover. I didn't have parmesan bread crumbs, so I just used italian bread crumbs and added some grated parmesan cheese. It definitely gave the chicken a nice flavor. These were a bit messy while they baked, so next time I think I might be a layer of foil down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe, but as other reviewers have said it definitely needs spices in the chicken mixture! I chopped 1 chicken breast and two slices of ham in the food processor, added garlic powder, salt and pepper. But will add more spices (maybe some cajun or chili powder) next time. Also I think the swiss cheese and the deep-pan frying makes it too greasy, so I'll fry it in a little butter/use the oven method and use some other cheese next time. Loved the idea though,great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States