Chicken Claridge Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very Good!! Made once and followed the recipe - would give it 4 stars that way. Made some adjustments and turned it into 5! Added a can of cream of celery, fresh mushrooms, corn and peas too!! Bumped the cup of chicken broth up to a can and omitted the tomatoes. Added some Italian seasonings and garlic and herb Mrs. Dash!! mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
AWESOME!!!!!!! Sage lovers rejoice, I am not usually a stew fan but this dish was superb. I substituted cream of brocolli soup for the cream of mushroom and added some florets. Was delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Wow this was so good. I left out the celery and added chives instead. I sauted the chicken in butter and spices instead of oil. I also used cream mushroom with roasted garlic instead of just plain cream of mushroom. This was aesome!!! My husband absolutely loved it. I will definately be making it again. Perfect for Cold Winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Wow! Easy and delicious. I made this for twelve people from age 12-70 and even the picky eaters loved it (even the one that picked out all the tomatoes!) I added sliced mushrooms and wasn't exact on any measurements but the outcome was wonderful. Definitely destined to become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is a nice alternative to beef stew. The reviews regarding the tomatoes made me a little nervous about using them. We really like tomatoes so, I drained the can of diced tomatoes and did not use the juice. I felt like maybe the juice would overpower the chicken taste. We enjoyed it this way very much. The other thing I did different was to add another 1/2 - 1 Cup of chicken broth JUST BEFORE serving to get the "stew consistency" I wanted. It was a little too thick without. Probably because, in part, due to not using the tomato juice. I did not serve over rice, very yummy without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I loved this! I added some potatoes after cooking the chicken and veggies in a can of chicken broth and skipped the tomatoes and served over rice with warm rolls. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I honestly don't know why I first chose to make this because the recipe didn't appeal to me, but I made it anyway. I am so glad I did. It was delicious. I served it with a loaf of fresh French bread and everyone went back for seconds. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was better then I was expecting. I was a bit nervous about using the tomoatos after reading one of the reviews, but Im happy I put them in. I followed the recipe exactly & will do the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious. Made almost as instructed...I drained & rinsed my canned tomatoes. Served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Had this tonight. I love the seasonings in this soup. I changed based on diet restrictions, so no cream soups. I love that the veg can change in this too. I used carrot, onion, celery, and baby sweet peppers that needed to be used. The recipe didn't specify, but I did not drain my tomatoes. I started this with frozen chicken breast that I threw in when I added liquid and let them cook in the broth before dicing. I needed a cup more liquid but as I upped the veg amounts that isn't the fault of the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States