Chicken Claridge Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this recipe so I followed the recipe exactly. It was fantastic until I added the tomatoes. Then it was horrible. I'm not sure if it was the strong taste of the tomatoes or there was just too much going on in one pot. Tossed out and ordered pizza. I'm might make this again but will not add tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
AWESOME!!!!!!! Sage lovers rejoice, I am not usually a stew fan but this dish was superb. I substituted cream of brocolli soup for the cream of mushroom and added some florets. Was delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I honestly don't know why I first chose to make this because the recipe didn't appeal to me, but I made it anyway. I am so glad I did. It was delicious. I served it with a loaf of fresh French bread and everyone went back for seconds. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is a nice alternative to beef stew. The reviews regarding the tomatoes made me a little nervous about using them. We really like tomatoes so, I drained the can of diced tomatoes and did not use the juice. I felt like maybe the juice would overpower the chicken taste. We enjoyed it this way very much. The other thing I did different was to add another 1/2 - 1 Cup of chicken broth JUST BEFORE serving to get the "stew consistency" I wanted. It was a little too thick without. Probably because, in part, due to not using the tomato juice. I did not serve over rice, very yummy without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
It kind of reminds me of a name brand canned soup - only heartier and spicier. I substituted an extra can of cream of chicken. I also used oregano instead of sage. It's wonderful served with cooked pasta shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My husband & I both liked this recipe. I opted to leave out the tomatoes, though, based on another review. I also made it in the slow cooker. Just "dumped" everything right in ( I left the breasts whole & shredded before serving) and cooked it on high for 4 hours, then turned it to low for 3 hours. Perfect! Chicken was tender and the broth was very tastey. Served in a "bowl" of rice with peas on the bottom. Nice alternative to traditional stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Wow this was so good. I left out the celery and added chives instead. I sauted the chicken in butter and spices instead of oil. I also used cream mushroom with roasted garlic instead of just plain cream of mushroom. This was aesome!!! My husband absolutely loved it. I will definately be making it again. Perfect for Cold Winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Fischer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kriston Scott
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made the following changes to the recipe. I put all of the ingredients, except the chicken and diced tomatoes, in a slow cooker. I first browned the chicken in a frying pan, with a small amount of vegetable oil, and then added it to the slow cooker. I cooked the food in the slow cooker for 7 1/2 hours, and then added the tomatoes for the last half hour. As recommended, I served it over hot cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This dish was easy to make due to its "on-hand" ingredients. However, I was hoping for better color, texture and overall flavor from this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very Good!! Made once and followed the recipe - would give it 4 stars that way. Made some adjustments and turned it into 5! Added a can of cream of celery, fresh mushrooms, corn and peas too!! Bumped the cup of chicken broth up to a can and omitted the tomatoes. Added some Italian seasonings and garlic and herb Mrs. Dash!! mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States