Chicken Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Not bad, but I do think it might be better making the rice separately. Not sure if I didn't use enough cilantro (I don't really know what a "bunch" means, and I was picking out of my deck garden, so I might not have used enough), but the cilantro taste wasn't really there for me--I think I might add fresh at the end if I made it again. Hubs liked it, and it's a relatively easy and quick meal, but I think I'd like some tweaks to try it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I took the idea of blending cilantro and garlic together and added one Serrano pepper for kick also, I used chicken brother not water. Cooked the onion, threw in the chicken (cubed) after being seasoned with cumin, pepper, and salt. Cooked the chicken 3/4 done, added the cilantro puree and then pulled the chicken out and set it aside. On another burner, I cooked quinoa, not rice. Set the skillet back on medium heat with oil and threw in carrots, onions, and bell peppers- cooked 1/2 done then I threw in the 3/4 cooked quinoa, chicken, and mixed it all up, pulled it off the burner after a few minutes and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a great base recipe! I did follow other reviews and added cumin and lime. I also used corn instead of hominy and I added black beans to make it more of a Mexican soup. I love cilantro, but I was still a little concerned about the amount used, but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
eh, not so much. Okay for one meal. Nobody was interested in the leftovers. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I just cooked this for dinner and my husband and I loved it. I doubled the chicken and hominy and used chicken stalk instead of plain water, simply delicious. Fresh lime is also a must! I can't wait to make it for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe! The ease of making this dish and the bold flavors is wonderful! I did make a few slight changes: I used brown rice and cooked it seperately ahead of time. I seasoned my chicken with Tony Chacheres, garlic powder and pepper and sauteed it with the onions and olive oil. I used corn instead of hominy and I also added cayenne pepper to the dish to taste. Once chicken had simmered in the cilantro sauce, I added the rice and corn and simmered the flavors and then cooked out the additional moisture to give the dish a dirty rice consistency. Great with lime, but doesn't necessarily need it. Excellent, excellent, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because, although delicious the night it was made, the reheated leftovers were, well, gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My husband stated "very tasty" surprisingly after taking a bite. We all liked it. I substituted 1 can chicken broth instead of the cube chicken bouillon and water, used brown rice, and corn instead of hominy. Thought it had good flavor, though would have definitely added some lime juice if I had had some on hand and maybe cayenne pepper next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I have to give this 4 stars because I altered it quite a bit. My blender is broken so I just added crushed garlic and chopped cilantro after sauteeing the onions and chicken. I also added some red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit and then, because I wanted more of a one-pot meal, I added 1/2 c corn, about 1 cup black beans and a can of chopped tomatoes. I served it over noodles since I was out of rice. My husband and kids enjoyed it so that confirms that it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wow, this was SO good! I used a lot more garlic and cilantro because I'm a huge fan of both. I omitted the salt and pepper at the end, and instead stirred in about a teaspoon of chili paste the last five minutes of cooking. I also omitted the hominy, as I didn't have any on hand. I wasn't quite sure if this was supposed to be a soup, or a dry rice-and-chicken combo. Mine was somewhere in the middle, but I thought it was great. With the additions I made, there was a perfect blend of spice and flavor. Hands down, I'll be making this again, thank you so much Ds R!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States