Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My roomates and I love this recipe as it is extremely easy to prepare. I bake my chimis at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes instead of frying...not only is it healthier, but you don't have all that mess of frying. We can whip up a pretty healthful and delicious meal in about half an hour. I didn't bother with the quacamole topping because I'm a bit lazy...and not a huge guac and sour cream fan. But adding red enchilada sauce is a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I loved this recipe. I did however out rolled chimis in a casserole dish, brushed with butter and baked them at 400 for 20-30 minutes until they were crispy and golden! Delicious and a lot cleaner. I didn't make the topping and just served it with sour cream and homemade gauc! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe a lot, I brushed olive oil on the tortillas and baked them in the oven instead of frying. I used more olives and prepared the ingredients the day before to lessen prep time. I added hot taco seasoning to the rice and cooked chicken (I love spicy food and this recipe seemed a bit bland), and the flavor was wonderful. Great recipe with lots of room for experimentation! I did end up having enough for a lot more than six servings, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Absolutely great recipe! We did opt to bake ours at 400 for 25 minutes vs. frying. I would also suggest adjusting the time to do all of the prep work - it definitely took longer than 20 minutes to chop and prepare the ingredients. I would suggest doing all of the prep work ahead of time in order to assemble and cook these quicker. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I took some time to prepare the rice and chicken in advance, that way when it was dinner time all I had to do was assemble to chimis and fry. I used refried black beans which gave them a good authentic mexican flavor. Also, I made the the guacamole and a homemade salsa earlier in the day. The time they chilled in the frige made the flavors come together nicely. My whole family loved these chimis. Will definately become a family favorite. Also, I made about 15 chimis by useing the recipie adjuster on the website. Finally as you roll the chimis you will get better at rolling and tucking them tightly. Practice makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
My sixteen year old said these are the best chimi's he's ever had. Too bad they are kind of time consuming but I will now have to make them again when you get a compliment like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These were a bit more time-consuming than stated, and you have to make sure not to stuff them too full because then they spill out in the frying pan when you try to flip them. Once I finally got that down, however, they were delicious! The guacamole sauce was the biggest hit with my boyfriend. Just make sure you leave yourself a full hour to prepare these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
this is a great recipe - you may want to add a red enchilada-type sauce to pour over the chimis. very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Love this recipe! My husband is a picky eater and he had nothing but praise for the chimichangas-A real accomplishment! I also cooked these up for my family and shared the recipe with some friends. Recipe cooks up easy and leaves little to clean up. I am very pleased. Ingredients can be cooked/chopped ahead and assembled later. I also grilled them in my george foreman grill for an extra cripsy outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Wonderful!! I have made this three times in the past three weeks. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States