Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
They were good and easy to make but were very bland. I also baked them instead of frying them as posted by other reviewers b/c I don't like greasy foods. I think the next time I make this, I will add taco seasoning to my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These were so delicious. My boyfriend even said that they were better than the chimis at our favorite Mexican restaurant! I baked them at 400 degrees for 25 minutes instead of frying for easier cleanup. They freeze well also. I just reheat them at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes, until heated through. They are even still crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsholar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The flavor was great, and the filling was very plentiful! I gave 4 stars because the directions were not that clear for a beginner. It says to divide a few ingredients, but never instructs what to do with them once they're halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very good. We skipped some ingredients, like olives, that we don't like but these were just a little extra special than regular burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was fabulous and extremely easy to make! As with other reviewers I baked the Chimichangas at 400 degrees instead of frying it. I also opted to do the highly rated guacamole recipe on this site instead of the avocado mix above. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These were ok. They were kind of bland for my taste. I think if the chicken was cooked with some spices that would help. I might try again spicing the chicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was great! I changed a few things...I used black beans instead of refried beans and I did the rice on the side instead of inside the chimichanga. I cooked the onions and bell peppers with the chicken,and after I fried them I melted monterey jack on top and had guacamole on the side.I will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very easy. Rice was a little bland so I added salt. Used rotisserie chicken and black beans. Also added sauteed onions, green peppers and cilantro. Brushed with canola oil and baked in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 min. as others suggested. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I loved these! I cooked them in my deep fryer and they turned out beautifully. The only thing I did different is use 2 cans of chicken instead of cooking the chicken myself and instead of cheddar I topped with crumbled queso fresco. I also used my own mexican rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Good, my husband really liked it and he isn't a big Mexican food fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States