Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My kids and husband ate this all up! I did bake unstead of frying, though. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is the first recipe I have gotten off here that I was not impressed with. I consider myself a fantastic cook, but something went wrong with this. Rice - followed directions and turned out under cooked and dry. To make them more restaurant style, suggest using larger then 12" tortilla shells so you can put more chicken in them. Had much higher expections when I started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
At my house we like anything Mexican or Fried so this was a Delicous PoW to the toungue when we tasted it! We love things spicy so 2 heat it up I simply poured on the Tomatillo Salsa-Yummy in my Tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This chimichanga is as good as any restaurant version I've ever enjoyed (and there have been quite a few). I used left over mexican rice in the filling, placed the rolled tortillas in a greased 9x13 casserole/cake pan, brushed them with melted butter, and baked them in the oven at 350 until they were golden brown. I topped them with guacamole and sour cream (instead of making the topping) and they were awesome. I will absolutely make them again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These don't have very much flavor as a stand-alone chimi. I didn't make the topping but maybe it's needed to make these tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very good. I only filled them with the rice and chicken mix. put the olives on top and server the beans on the side topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Really good. Would prefer to have more flavor inside, but it is a great mild flavor for children. My three year old and my three year old niece devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These were ok. Since others made comments about them being bland, I added some garlic powder to the rice mixture and simmered the chicken in taco seasoning. I still found them to be rather bland. Still, they were not as difficult to make as some said. Just make sure you tuck the ends in and fry them on med high. I used tongs to turn them to make sure that little flap didn't open up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
They were good and easy to make but were very bland. I also baked them instead of frying them as posted by other reviewers b/c I don't like greasy foods. I think the next time I make this, I will add taco seasoning to my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These were so delicious. My boyfriend even said that they were better than the chimis at our favorite Mexican restaurant! I baked them at 400 degrees for 25 minutes instead of frying for easier cleanup. They freeze well also. I just reheat them at 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes, until heated through. They are even still crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsholar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States