Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I thought these were delicious. The fried tortillas around the melted cheese, rice, chicken and beans was delish! I actually didn't have some of the ingredients so improvised with great results. First, no jack cheese, used mozz, was excellent. No enchilada sauce, used tapito but only a few drops for a hint of heat. Last, I didn't have any of the topping ingredients except shredded cheddar and sour cream so I skipped that this time, but I will definitely make it next time. It is obvious that this recipe was written by someone who really knows Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
absolutely delicious prepared exactly as specified
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe was amazing. I did however bake the chimis at 400 for 20 minutes. I didnt have enchalada sauce. Therefore, I thought I would try using what I had in the fridge good ol' tapito. Tapito wasn't a good sub. But the recipe itself as fabulous! I fought through my over seasoning. I will try again minus the tapito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Really good. Family loved it. I did bake them as others suggested to decrease calories, make healthier. Added some enchilada sauce on bottom and top. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These were good but didn't really have the wow factor I'd expect from a chimichanga. And considering how fattening all that cheese is, I really want the wow. And they are rather time consuming - no way these are done in 45 min. I've never seen 12" tortillas but I calculated this would be about ten 9" ones... that allowed them to be good & stuffed like I like them. I don't like cooked pieces of onion in (most) stuff so used liquid onion in the rice mixture, and no extra. I just dumped on top the stuff I liked and had around, which ended up being the cilanto, green onion, tomato, sour cream (the more sour cream the better!) & cheese. These really do need "something" - at the local restaurant I shove the guacamole off and there's no onion or pepper, and they are delicious, so there's something missing in the way of spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I have to say though, this recipe is LABOR INTENSIVE. There are a lot of parts to prepare, and then the frying in oil takes time (since I could only do one at a time) and it was one heck of a mess. In my opinion, what really makes this meal in the guacamole/salsa that you make with it. The only change I made was adding a packet of taco seasoning to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
So we baked these instead of frying them to cut calories. Also made these with Quorn Chickn' as we are vegetarians, but all I can say is WOW! The topping for these makes it taste like something out of an authentic Mexican restaurant, it was so good we've decided this will become part of our regular dinner rotation. 5 Stars and two HUGE thumbs up!!!!!!!!! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nexus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
mix all together x cheese- use black beans. Small amt of enchilada sauce on bottom and drizzle on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Instead of rolling... I layered so I had a chimi lasagna. I omitted olives because my husband dislikes them and I added a can of green chilies. Also, use the recipe from the site for Refried Beans Without the Refry... excellent. Make them the day before for a meal, then use them again in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States