Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This. was. amazing. I had some wraps and some chicken I wanted to use so this recipe was perfect. I took a suggestion from a commentator and baked it. I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was a good "start" recipe. While I kept the topping ingredients the same (except omitting the peppers and adding a few packets of hot sauce from Taco Time), I tinkered with the actually stuffing of the Chimichangas. Although not that much, instead of refried beans I added a drained can of black beans, as well as a drained can of mexicorn. The cooking on the stove was the same, I did add the chicken to the cooked ingredients after the simmering was done, also added some pepperjack/cheddar cheese and about a 1/4 cup of the remaining enchilada sauce, mixed it all together and then after spooning into the taco shell added a bit more monterey jack cheese and then folded up. As for cooking, after reading some some reviews, I put toothpicks (1 at each end and 1 in the middle). "flash fried" 1 at a time, and then put them on a baking sheet covered w/sprayed foil. I then brushed melted butter over the top, added a sprinkling of sea salt and baked in 375 oven for about 20-25 min, or until golden brown. I used this method because they still have the deep fried taste and appearance, but if you are serving a crowd they will all be done at the same time. I served it on the bed of lettuce, a small bit of the topping then the chimi on top & more topping & sour cream, actually forgot the final sprinkling of cheese, didnt miss it, but I'm sure would also be good. It was a hit with my family, especially my "Farmer John" son. as well as my 18 year old growing basketball player son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
a little less refried beans next ime and it will be a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I was really excited about these & sad to say I was disappointed. The premise is good, but the end result is very bland. There needs to be more seasoning in the preparation of the chicken and the recipe in general. The guac needed lots of salt to taste good. I added a can of died green chilies to the rice mixture while cooking for color & flavor. Would make again with some tweaks, probably some chili powder, cumin, etc. in the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
These are the greatest! Like a lot of others, I also baked them instead of frying. They are better than some I've had at restaurants, and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
yum!added in refried beans and was great! also, topped with salsa to save time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Danielle loved them but i thought that they were barely ok. Cut the recipe in half except for the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My husband and I have made this a few times now, and it's yummy! I only alter the recipe slightly since I can't eat onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States