Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i forgot to look at recipe while cooking, lol, but i satueed chicken in oil with greenpeppers and onions, seasoned it with cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper. add zatarans jumbalaya rice mix, water on back of package, black beans rinsed and drained, mccormick enchilada sauce seasoning packet, 1 1/2 cups of water, and a can of enchilada sauce. i rolled them up with refried bean/cheesy tortillas, drizzled evoo and loaded them with cheese on top. cooked for 15 min on 350, served with homade quac, pace salsa, and sour cream. they had just enough of a kick but not to much to ruin the taste, and thats a compliment from me since i hate spicy foods. thanks for the orignal recipe though, i just like mine better. i'll try yours one day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made these for the family last night. Everyone loved them and thought they were a great alternative to the boring taco's and burittos! Chimis are not regular fare in Australia - but it didnt take too much to convince my family - they love mexican food. I took some of the revies on board and baked mine in the oven rather than frying. Also omitted the olives - I love them, my family hates them. majority rules! Thanks for a nice change in the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Both my husband and I liked the recipe, but my daughter didn't care for it. The rice I had to add more broth to and a added a 10 oz can of red chili sauce instead of enchilada sauce. It is a time consuming recipe so be prepared. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Excellent! By the previous reviews, I also decided to bake at 400 for 25 minutes. They came out nice and crispy, and they were a hit for Super Bowl Sunday. This is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These chimichangas were really good! Although the topping took a teeny bit extra time, taste-wise it was worth it and it added a nice color to the meal. Before cooking my chicken, I seasoned it really good with various seasonings so that the meat would not be bland and added a little salt and garlic powder to my rice. I think the next time I make these I will use ground turkey instead of the shredded chicken for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kayenta, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These were good, but I think all the flavor is in the topping. The filling was bland. I added some taco seasoning (from a recipe on this site) to give it more flavor. Maybe I shouldn't have used mild enchilada sauce. To make them easier to assemble, I mixed the rice, beans, cheese and chicken all together and then filled the tortillas using a large kitchen scoop. The whole family liked them, but agreed that the filling needed a little something. I will make them again but with more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
These were good, but nothing special. I can't find an enchilada sauce I love, maybe that's part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Pretty good! I used a rotisserie chicken I bought precooked and that cut down on prep time. I just thought it was bland. It could have used some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
The stuffing was not that flavorful wich is important as my family isnt big into any of the toppings. I brushed with butter olive oil and baked. Its was decent but not nearly up to my calibur of cooking. I wont attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States