Chicken Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
These were very tasty. I only had the taco sized tortillas, but it still worked out. I added 2 Tblspn of chile powerd and 1/2 tsp of cumin to the shredded chicken, as I thought it was going to be a bit bland. I tried a couple reader's suggestions and baked some of them. Maybe they would've tasted good had I not already ate one that was fried - they can't compare! My suggestion: fry them, enjoy your dinner, and work out the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These chimichangas were soooo good! I made a red mole sauce to top them with and added the cheese and sour cream on top of the mole....Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leajaco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
These were pretty good, but I made sure to bake the chimichangas instead of frying and I didn't put nearly as much cheese as recommended. I was very happy with the results though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i forgot to look at recipe while cooking, lol, but i satueed chicken in oil with greenpeppers and onions, seasoned it with cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper. add zatarans jumbalaya rice mix, water on back of package, black beans rinsed and drained, mccormick enchilada sauce seasoning packet, 1 1/2 cups of water, and a can of enchilada sauce. i rolled them up with refried bean/cheesy tortillas, drizzled evoo and loaded them with cheese on top. cooked for 15 min on 350, served with homade quac, pace salsa, and sour cream. they had just enough of a kick but not to much to ruin the taste, and thats a compliment from me since i hate spicy foods. thanks for the orignal recipe though, i just like mine better. i'll try yours one day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made these for the family last night. Everyone loved them and thought they were a great alternative to the boring taco's and burittos! Chimis are not regular fare in Australia - but it didnt take too much to convince my family - they love mexican food. I took some of the revies on board and baked mine in the oven rather than frying. Also omitted the olives - I love them, my family hates them. majority rules! Thanks for a nice change in the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Both my husband and I liked the recipe, but my daughter didn't care for it. The rice I had to add more broth to and a added a 10 oz can of red chili sauce instead of enchilada sauce. It is a time consuming recipe so be prepared. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Excellent! By the previous reviews, I also decided to bake at 400 for 25 minutes. They came out nice and crispy, and they were a hit for Super Bowl Sunday. This is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These chimichangas were really good! Although the topping took a teeny bit extra time, taste-wise it was worth it and it added a nice color to the meal. Before cooking my chicken, I seasoned it really good with various seasonings so that the meat would not be bland and added a little salt and garlic powder to my rice. I think the next time I make these I will use ground turkey instead of the shredded chicken for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kayenta, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These were good, but I think all the flavor is in the topping. The filling was bland. I added some taco seasoning (from a recipe on this site) to give it more flavor. Maybe I shouldn't have used mild enchilada sauce. To make them easier to assemble, I mixed the rice, beans, cheese and chicken all together and then filled the tortillas using a large kitchen scoop. The whole family liked them, but agreed that the filling needed a little something. I will make them again but with more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
These were good, but nothing special. I can't find an enchilada sauce I love, maybe that's part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States