Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Flower_In_Bloom
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! I baked mine at 425 degrees for 15 minutes instead of frying them and left them in the oven to cool so they could brown. The sauce is savory and has a nice consistency. I served these delectable chimichangas with yellow rice, black beans, salsa, verde sauce (optional), and green onion sprinkled on top. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was Amazing! Had no left overs! And took some advice and baked it as well. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandazzle
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamabaker
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldnt cut down on the water like some people did. The water helps with the tenderness of the chicken. Its worth the wait, trust me. (I always boil seasoned chicken in water when i need extra tender chicken.) The only thing i would do different next time is double the sauce. The sauce tastes like queso blanco, its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delish! Tasted just like my favorite restaurant's. I used around 2c water to simmer down quickly. I also started with Perdue's Perfect Portions marinated Italian Seasonings chicken breasts. I used three breasts and only about 2 oz of green chillies in my chicken mixture and that was enough. Think I might try putting meat mixture into the slow-cooker next time to let it marinate and cook slowly for a quick dinner prep. I found it made way more sour cream sauce than was needed but it was soooo good, I don't mind one bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I followed this Recipe and i have to say this is FANTASTIC, they are addictive, the sauce rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have always loved ordering chicken chimichangas at Mexican restaurants. One day we were having company and I wanted everyone to know what they were like. I found this recipe. It's the best chicken chimichanga! My whole family loves this recipe. We've made it several times. The topping is so good my husband and I make it up to add to several Mexican recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I followed previous reviews and doubled the spices. I used chicken thighs, and put them and the doubled spices, green chilies, onions & garlic in the slow cooker. No water. I let them cook on low all day, then drained and shredded the chicken. I made a double batch of sauce, and because the sour cream had gotten towards the back of the refrigerator, and was mostly frozen, I put in the whole 16 oz carton. My husband likes sour cream so he was okay with that. I sprayed the chimis with canola spray, and baked them in a 450 oven for 15 minutes. It all turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wow. We loved these. Thanks to the other reviewers, I want to recommend that you cook them in the deep fryer with canola oil heated up to 375. They will cook quickly to the perfect crispy brown. 2. Used more green chilis cause we like our Mexican spicey. 3. Followed recipe completely and loved the chicken flavor and the sauce! The second time we made these we used store bought pre-cooked chicken fajita strips (John Soules brand or Tyson chicken tenders). We made dinner in half the time with pre- cooked chicken that needed no extra seasoning. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing taste. I would make this once a week. I did have to make a few changes because I thought I had boullion and did not. I substituted 1 can (14.5oz) of chicken stock for the water and had to use poultry seasoning salt and pepper in the cream sauce. I also bought the wrong tortillas and used ten inch but with the same proportion of filling. This allowed me to wrap them quite tightly and did not need to use a toothpick in the ends. After the first 15 minutes I started shredding up the chicken into smaller pieces and continued to let cook just like the directions. After the second fifteen minutes I shredded the chicken right in the mixture and let it simmer down the rest of the way. I also added poultry seasoning to the raw chicken and then doubled the rest of the spices except the chili powder. I generally do not rate recipes I am not following to the letter but this was too fabulous to not comment on. My only complaint would be the tortilla flavor. I used mission but the shell did not turn out as well as I have had in restaraunts. I do not know what they use to wrap with though so these are a fair enough substitute. The rest of the flavors are amazing. The next time I will make the filling the day before and reheat to fill. I think they would be even more flavoful, but there are no leftovers to judge by this time around ~ Thank you for my new favorite chicken dish. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States