Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The hint of cinnamon gives this recipe an interesting twist. It's just enough to be subtle. The chili powder makes a very strong statement so cut back on that a bit if you prefer a little less heat and intensity of chili flavor. Don't bother with adding the water and the extra step of pureeing the sauce as it's not necessary and will just create more clean up. There is also no need to secure the rolls with toothpicks nor turn them while baking. Just roll and bake - they turn out crispy all over and won't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Chicken Chimi in the Oven Haiku: "Husband said of these: 'They're restaurant quality.' Well, said between bites." So I halved the recipe and ended up w/ 8, that I made in 8" tortillas; bit more difficult to fill and roll, since they were smaller, but wow, really fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly (used lime & cilanto-flavored refried beans though), and couldn't have been more impressed, although these suckers are SCORCHING right out of the oven. And I wasn't exaggerating - my hubs did in fact, say they tasted like something from a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good, but SPICY, dish. I omitted the water, and didn't put in a full 1/4 cup of chili powder. The only chili powder I had was chipotle chili powder, so I'm not sure how much hotter it made the dish, but this was definitely spicy - and we like spice. I upped the cumin a bit (because I love cumin), added a tiny bit of shredded jack cheese and baked for about 20 minutes. It probably could have baked longer, but it was crunchy. Served with guacamole, and it was gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Super delicious! We added half the cinnamon the 2nd time we made it and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Cinnamon and cumin really made this recipe great. Easy for a quick meal. Prob could also freeze ahead of time. I used a high quality fresh salsa and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was good - my husband liked it and even took leftovers for lunch, which considering he isn't a huge chicken fan, is a good indicator for this recipe. It took a lot longer than 15 minutes for it to get even a little crispy, and they were difficult to turn in the oven. I think I will cut the rolls in half next time for easier turning. I also didn't put the entire 1/4 cup of chili powder in, that just seemed way too much and since it was late, I didn't want to make something inedible. I just estimated the amount based on what I put in other similar dishes. All in all, I'll likely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
The flavor was incredible! But after 23 minutes in the oven, the tortillas still weren't golden crisp. I ended up frying them for the crispy outer. Loved the filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
pretty boring, not a lot of flavour which was surprising for all of the yummy ingredients. i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was very yummy. It's a nice if you want tex-mex, but you're tired of eating burritos or tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A great way to use up leftover roasted chicken. I reduced the chili powder down to a teaspoon, tender tummies, but other than that, made it exactly per the recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States