Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love this baked healthy version. I kept the cinnamon in and could totally taste it in the sauce but i loved it. Might do a 1/4 of a teaspoon. I brushed the tortillas in oil like another review suggested and was happy with it. I also left the beans out and just served them on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Oh my is this recipe a keeper. I see why many of you make these over and over. I did not puree the salsa, onion, and garlic mix. I also did not add any water, I didn't want it runny. After I added the seasonings and chicken, I added the refried beans to the mix. It made the mixture VERY easy to handle as I loaded my tortillas. I only had 9 tortillas and this recipe would have easily made 12. I also added shredded cheese to the tortillas first, then added my filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow!The family absolutely loved it, kids included. Took the advice of others and used rotisserie chicken, taco seasoning & can of corn drained. I also used all the ingredients from recipe except cinnamon, chilli powder and water. I used blk refried beans vs pinto. The chicken mixture was so good kids kept using it as a dip for their chips while I was assembling the chimis for the oven. Super easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIET5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These aren't the chimis you find at most Mexican restaurants, but they are great. I cut back on the cinnamon a little, and added some ancho chili powder in place of the regular chili powder--the smoky flavor it adds is great. Most of you are going to think this is strange, but adding cocoa to these gives it an authentic kick that is wonderful. Do spread the olive oil over the entire rolled tortilla after constructing them; it's important to making them crunchy and not soggy. When baking, keep them separated so they brown well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These were ok. The cinnamon overpowered a little, though it worked with the other seasoning. I may try this again with just a few dashes of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The hint of cinnamon gives this recipe an interesting twist. It's just enough to be subtle. The chili powder makes a very strong statement so cut back on that a bit if you prefer a little less heat and intensity of chili flavor. Don't bother with adding the water and the extra step of pureeing the sauce as it's not necessary and will just create more clean up. There is also no need to secure the rolls with toothpicks nor turn them while baking. Just roll and bake - they turn out crispy all over and won't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Chicken Chimi in the Oven Haiku: "Husband said of these: 'They're restaurant quality.' Well, said between bites." So I halved the recipe and ended up w/ 8, that I made in 8" tortillas; bit more difficult to fill and roll, since they were smaller, but wow, really fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly (used lime & cilanto-flavored refried beans though), and couldn't have been more impressed, although these suckers are SCORCHING right out of the oven. And I wasn't exaggerating - my hubs did in fact, say they tasted like something from a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good, but SPICY, dish. I omitted the water, and didn't put in a full 1/4 cup of chili powder. The only chili powder I had was chipotle chili powder, so I'm not sure how much hotter it made the dish, but this was definitely spicy - and we like spice. I upped the cumin a bit (because I love cumin), added a tiny bit of shredded jack cheese and baked for about 20 minutes. It probably could have baked longer, but it was crunchy. Served with guacamole, and it was gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Super delicious! We added half the cinnamon the 2nd time we made it and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States