Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum! While I LOOOVED these, my hubs (who btw, HAPPILY ate TWO chimi's) "gently" suggested a few (minor) improvements :) I have to agree with him to some extent. Although delicious as is, with a few minor tweaks these could be better. For one, we both agree that the cinnamon flavor was a bit overpowering (I'll cut back to 1/4 t next time). Second, NOTHING compares to the texture of an authentic, DEEP FRIED chimichanga - PERIOD! My husband requested that we deep fry ours next time and I second that. My hubs final comment was that our chimi's were a *tad* wet. I think that was my fault tho.... To speed prep, I purchased a Mexican-seasoned rotisserie chicken. Since I ended up with only 3/4 lb. of shredded meat, I cut back on the sauce but apparently not enough (oops!). :( NOTE: DO NOT brush your chimichangas with 2 T EVOO! A T of oil (better yet, melted butter) is PLENTY!!! You want to LIGHTLY coat each chimi. Otherwise, you'll end up with soggy chimi's or will have to bake FAR longer than 15 minutes in order for them to crisp up. I ended up having to pop mine under the broiler for 5 minutes (be sure to watch carefully!). Served atop a bed of shredded lettuce with some reserved sauce, guacamole, sour cream, pico de gallo and shredded Mexican-blend cheese on top. Mexican rice and tortilla chips rounded out our meal. Thanks for sharing, Jeri. This now tops my favorites list! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
great recipe! My whole family loved it. I cooked my chicken breast in the crock pot with some chicken broth. I used 2 lbs of chicken. I used a whole sweet onion & 4 cloves of garlic. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp. When I was done with everything I loaded up the flour tortillas with the beans and chicken mixture, I sprinkled a little taco cheese on them and wrapped them. I didnt puree my chicken mixture and it was still perfect. We did freze the rest of the chimichangas. Thanks Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE
Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These have a very authentic taste, maybe some cheese and olives would make it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I added some brown/white rice that I had leftover and also put half regular salsa and half Costco mango salsa, which gave it a sweetness. I have a daughter who is sensitive to spicy foods so I halved the chili powder and added some smoked paprika, which I add to almost all the tomato based sauces I make (except Italian) for a smokiness that really adds a lot. I know this sounds like a lot of add-ons but if you made this as is -- it's a great meal. Try Tortilla Factory tortillas. To me, they are the best tasting you can buy (at least in Seattle) in a supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I will make it again with a little less cinnamon, but other than that we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made it as is. The WHOLE THING was amazing. I used Pace Medium Picante sauce. I left in the cinnamon; I think it gives the recipe some real panache. We put sour cream, chopped onions, tomatoes, and shredded lettuce on top after it was all done. I will definitely be making this again. And again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My hubby and I really liked this one, I didn't do any of the blending and it was delicious. Will defiantly be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was very good, and I liked the cinnamon in the recipe. This added a very nice smelling, and unexpected flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great recipe. I did cut the chili powder down from 1/4 c to 1 T, and also reduced the cinnamon to 1/4 t. The taste was great, with plenty of spice. I too did not blend the salsa, but enjoyed the different textures while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Very good. one heaping tablespoon of chili pepper instead of 1/4 cup. made way than 6. too compact, didn't crisp well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States