Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
These turned out great. Just like most reviewers I decreased chili powder to about 2 tsp. Skipped the beans and added just a bit of shredded cheese before folding. I did secure each chimi with a toothpick due to the need to turn over. Served with guac, salsa and sour cream. Bake time and temp. right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Ended up tasting like grocery store burritos. The only difference was that these were larger and took forever to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did take a fast track route and seasoned the chicken with taco seasoning and pan fried it...then shredded it. What I love about about this is how flavourful and filling this is and it is BAKED...not fried...so easy to make a healthy and flavourful dish. Thank you for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Overall, a good recipe. I would've like a bit more heat from something like green chilies or jalapenos. I liked the texture you get from puree-ing the ingredients for the filling; much better than just mixing it all together. I didn't pay much attention to how long it actually took to crisp them to my liking, especially since I extended the baking time to melt some cheese on top (after they were crisp). Yum! Leftovers re-crisp decently in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was very good and my family really liked it. It was a little spicy for me and my husband though. Next time I will cut back a little on the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was a nice way to use up some roasted chicken instead of the usual soup. I made it exactly as directed except I didnt blend sauce til smooth and in my opinion its not a necessary step. I also made my own refried beans by draining a can of black beans (could use pinto beans instead) heat a little oil in a frying pan add some chopped garlic then the drained beans, 1 tsp cumin, a few drops tabasco, salt & pepper. Using a potato masher smoosh the beans, cook a few mins then set aside. Make sauce add chicken, assemble chimi's. Next time I will skip the cinnamon, just personal preference. A good recipe though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These were a hit, especially with nacho cheese sauce over the top. Easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I cooked this for the second time today, minus the water, and it turned out great. The first time I used 8-inch tortillas & 1 was an ample serving. I accidentally bought 10-inch tortillas which makes for a huge chimichanga, so half of one will be a meal. On the back of the chi-chi's tortilla package was this same recipe including the blending instruction. Chi-chis called for 1/3 c chili powder & 4 T water which is too much. Jeri, I think chi-chis ”borrowed” your delicious recipe! You ought to call them up and ask for a cut of their profits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm not exactly crazy about this recipe, but I give it 5 stars for the other 4 to 8 people regularly here for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really great recipe and very flavorful without being unhealthy like Mexican food can be. I did half in flour tortillas and half in corn tortillas since I really like the authentic flavor of corn and wanted to see which one turned out better. The corn ones fall apart pretty easily, but I think I liked them more. The flour tortilla ones were also excellent though. I agree with other reviewers that you need to watch the cinnamon...I put in half a teaspoon and it was borderline too much. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States