Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Don't eliminate the cinnamon! It's an essential ingredient. I, too, reduced the chili powder and instead of refried beans, used black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Card

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Thank you for posting this recipe. My family loved it! I reduced the cinnamon, and used white & dark meat. I added cheese on the tortilla before rolling it. Since we could not consume the whole batch, I wrapped each unbaked chimi on a tin foil & freeze. As soon as we decided to have chimi again for dinner, I moved the chimi from freezer to the cooler/ref the morning of to thaw. Easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very good, the cinnamon flavor adds a delicate sweetness that is unexpected but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Better than anything you can get a the local Mexican Grill. My wife raved about this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I cooked the chicken in 2 tsp of olive oil and 2 tsp of hot pepper oil. Garlic, onion and sun dried tomatoes. Don't put the tomatoes in too early as they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Good recipe, but.....I would prefer them fried. I tried to crisp them up in the oven, but could not achieve the desired results. The cinnamon does add an interesting flavor, though my husband was not a fan. We had a lot of leftovers, so I froze them, and we will use them on top of tortilla chips, and make nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Huge hit with the family!! I used half mild and half medium salsa and halved the chili powder but used all the cinnamon and cumin--it tasted great! I eliminated the water and still found the mixture too liquidy--needed to strain it a bit. I did not bother turning the chimis and they still crisped up nicely. Everyone said that this was a "definite make-again recipe"! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was a really yummy recipe however i did make a few modifications and also three different kinds. 1)instead of refried beans i used roasted garlic hummus, 2) due to lack of tortillas i used the burrito sized tortillas cut in half and folded like mini triangles, 3) i added bacon to one tray of these and bbq sauce to the other tray. They came out wonderful served w/sour cream and homemade guacamole DELISH! side note:for the shredded chicken i brought water to a rolling boil, seasoned chicken breast w/salt&pepper coated with 2 teaspoons of veggie oil and also seasoned the water w/garlic&onion powder, salt&pepper & cumin as well, reduced water to a simmer dropped the chicken in and let simmer for about 45 minutes then shredded, chicken came out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day. I don't like to eat out on the busiest day of the year, but don't want to spend the whole day cooking either. I prepared the filling on Saturday so that it was assembly/baking only required on Sunday. My kids had one bite and all I heard was raves and I want to make these! My son was trying to guess what the seasonings were. We all loved them. I did not add the refried beans. I had side dishes of pinto beans and Mexican rice. It is easy to make and so much better than restaurant chimichangas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Meyeraan Tovar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The family & I really enjoyed. Used a pack of taco mix as suggested by other reviewers. Made a pouch of Mexican Rice and added to the Chimi as welll as used Green Enchilada Sauce to add to the top because it looked too dry. Made an Avocado, Red Onion & Tomato salad on the side. We were happy at the end of the meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States