Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very easy to make and we enjoyed tremendously. I added some cheese on top and green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I have been making this for years, easy & excellent. I add one can of drained corn & sometimes 1-2 chopped cooked potatos. I saute the garlic & onion in the pan & then throw it in a big bowl with the rest of the ingrdents(less clean up) We like the sauce thick so I never add the water or blend it. Also use refried black beans they taste the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Good. Easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was better than I expected. The cinnamon added a very delicious twist. My kids really liked this recipe, even my extremely picky 6 year old. I didn't wrap the burrito according to the recipe, I used 7 inch tortillas and just wrapped them taquito style (just a little bigger) and I used 10 torillas. I didn't have to use the tooth picks this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
at first, i was skeptical to try this recipe, but i'm so glad i did! my husband and i LOVED this recipe. i improvised a little because we love LOTS of flavor so... i added 1/4 - 1/2 taco seasoning packet to the chicken before adding it to the salsa. also, i used 1 cup salsa in a blender and added 1/2 onion ,1 clove garlic, 1 jalepeno, 1 tomato, juice and zest of 1/2 lemon/lime so that the salsa is actually very flavorful, fresh and delicious. i sprinkled shredded chedder cheese on top right before pulling them out of the oven. wonderful authentic taste! kudos, even as is, this recipe would have been great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I probably used more garlic than most, but that is to suit my own family preference. The only other thing that I did was add cheese on top of my meat & bean mixture. These were really easy for me and they tasted great! I will be making them again and again. It is just as good as our local Mexican restaurant and cheaper, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My family BEGS me to make this for them - I usually double the recipe because they want some for leftovers, too. I add 1 t. of dried cilantro, and I top with Mexican blend shredded cheese for the last 5 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was delicious!! I used ground chicken and chicken taco seasoning mix in lieu of the other spices, except the cinnamon which I highly recommend including, because it gives the meat a subtle, rich flavor that made this filling so unique and special! I didn't have enough salsa, so I substitued 1/4 c. with cocktail sauce and also added a layer of shredded cheddar cheese between the bean and meat layer. Serve with sour cream and it's a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is one of my husband's favorite dishes. He loves it when we have this for dinner - he refers to them as the "Chimi Bombs" because he's such a fan . The flavor is great - the cinnamon really gives it an very good kick. I have topped it with cheddar cheese and placed them in the oven. It also works to mix all ingredients in a food processor at the same time instead of having to mix it separately in a food processor. It also works to make the chicken mixture ahead of time - makes for a really fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
So Yummy!!! I cut the oil out completely and just used Pam and chicken broth instead (no need for the extra fat and calories in an otherwise healthy recipe) and substituted whole wheat tortillas for the regular flour torts. I cut back on the spices per other reviewers comments. DO NOT cut the cinnamon out! It adds such a wonderful flavor! Great Chimis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States