Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I make this as is sometimes (always add cheese and never puree, though) and sometimes I take the quick route and just make as quesadillas. Instead of brushing with oil, I use cooking spray. For a good dipping sauce, mix together some sour cream and taco sauce. Reheats well for lunch the next day. During the last month of my pregnancy, I made these like a pan of enchiladas and froze for a reheat-and-heat meal after the baby was born. There are a lot of options with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Delicious and easy meal, well received by the whole family! However, instead of using salsa (because it is a different in New Zealand, two cups of it would be way to much!) used a can of Chilli and Garlic tomatos, omitting the crushed garlic and water from the recipe. Also, threw some chopped bell pepper in with the onion before adding the tomatos/salsa. Didn't wizz it in the blender, as I prefer the chunky texture. Cooked chicken beforehand with cajun spice, which worked really well. Also sprinkled cheese on top after last turn in the oven. Awesome flavor, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
used a little less cinnamon, added cheese on top last 5 min of baking. also baked longer so they turned crispy, i needed 10 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These turned out good. The only changes were I only used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. You had a vague hint in the background & it really added a depth to the flavor. I also sprinkled shredded cheddar over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Great Chimi! Tasted great, and loved how crispy it turned in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These would've been excellent if they weren't quite SO spicy. I'm a baby about spicy things! My husband loved them though. Very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Super Score! With three boys to please, this recipe works for the entire family. I had extra mixture, so I made 8 Chimis and still had more for leftovers the next night. I added cheese, and basted an extra 10 minutes. I think next time I will try the taco seasoning, but I won't give up the different flavor with the cinnamon. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Yum these were so good!! I was a little hesitant about putting in cinnamon, but did it anyway. It tasted perfect with sour cream!! I froze the leftover filling and my husband wants me to make them again already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hernandez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Very easy to make, though I used 1.25 tbsp of chili powder rather than the 1/4 cup the recipe calls for. I used Old El Paso tortillas for burritos which were a smidge on the small side (I used leftover refried beans as 'glue' to keep them sealed shut) so next time I will look for bigger wraps. Will absolutely make this again - can't wait to eat the ones I've frozen! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States