Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I really liked these and they didn't take long to prepare. I, too, used about 1/2 of the chili powder and I should have cut down on the cinnamon as well. Next time. The tortillas browned beautifully. I think I would make extra sauce next time to pour over the finished chimis. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Good dinner that I would make again if I had leftover baked chicken to use up. I would recommend only 2 T. of chili powder for a little spiciness. It comes together quite quickly. I like that it only takes 15 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We liked these a lot, with some slight modifications. I used only 1T chili powder and it was PLENTY. I also meant to add only a teeny bit of cinnamon but the shaker got away from me a little and added probably more than what's called for - but it's okay it didn't really taste cinnamon-y at all, so no need to be afraid of the 1/2 tsp. I didn't bother with the blender, but mashed up the salsa a bit with a potato masher - I don't even think that's necessary though unless you have REALLY thick salsa. I added a little shredded cheese too, but we didn't even really notice it, so I'd say it's not really necessary to add (or add quite a bit). I also only had 6-inch tortillas - I got 10 6-inch chimis with these filling measurements. The final product was very good - we ate just with some sour cream, but I'd like to try to find a sauce that will compliment them. My favourite restaurant chimi gets served with ranchero sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were outstanding. I cut down the amount of cinnamon and chilli and skipped on the beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good! Like others, I cut waaaay back on the listed amount of chili powder. I, too, cut back on the amount of cinnamon. Like someone else said, I was afraid of the cinnamon! But, yes it did give it a good - different - flavor. I'm glad I didn't use any more than the amount I did, though. I used about 1/4 tsp. Everything else, I followed the recipe. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christena7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So good! We had leftover rotisserie chicken and tortillas to use up. It's a five with my changes: omit cinnamon, added chopped green chili peppers with the pureed salsa mixture; did not have refried beans so I used canned black breans (pureed). After baking, we topped it with shredded pepper jack cheese then transferred it back in the oven for a minute to melt and voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Holy cow, this was great! I even had my husband prep everything and get it started while I put our baby to sleep. It couldn't have been better! It tasted like we were eating out at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Didn't have much flavor, was pretty disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I cut back on the chili powder to appeal to the kids more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WellConnectedMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is great. Enjoyed by all. I loved adding the pre-shredded chicken. My husband says it had a restaurant qua
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States