Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My boyfriend and I love, love, love this recipe! I did a few things different. I boiled the chicken breast and shredded it by hand. I added all seasonings except cinnamon and also added a little red pepper. Added shredded cheese inside the chimi and once it was cooked, I topped the outside with the remaining salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
delicious & so easy too. i substituted 1 c. diced tomatoes for 1 c. of salsa because i have 4 preschool aged children. all around huge hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Loved it! Very different flavor. I only used 3 T. chili powder and shredded some Monterey Jack cheese on top when it came out...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dione
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is an awesome recipe to use up leftover chicken. I used a fresh salsa which I think made a big difference. I also saved a little time by throwing the cooked chicken in with the salsa mix when chopping it in the food processor. It really shredded the chicken in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These are great. I add green chile sauce and melted salsa con queso on top. yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I followed this recipe as written with the following exceptions.... I ran out of chili powder so I used about 1/8 cup plus about 1 1/2 Tbl cayenne pepper (my husband likes spicy food, so it wasn't a problem). I also omitted the water as others suggested. Cheddar cheese was added on top of the chicken & beans before baking, and this turned out really tasty; you could use other cheeses and it would turn out just as well, I think. There was well more than enough filling for six tortillas, so I ending up with eleven chimichangas. I will try freezing the leftovers and reheating in the microwave. My husband fried some of the prepared chimichangas while the rest were baked. The resulting two tastes were different, as would be expected, but both ways turned out well. All in all, I think this recipes is well worth making: one that I will certainly make again. Next time I will omit the cinnamon (based on personal preference). This recipe was a great use for leftover baked chicken from dinner a few nights ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I really liked these and they didn't take long to prepare. I, too, used about 1/2 of the chili powder and I should have cut down on the cinnamon as well. Next time. The tortillas browned beautifully. I think I would make extra sauce next time to pour over the finished chimis. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Good dinner that I would make again if I had leftover baked chicken to use up. I would recommend only 2 T. of chili powder for a little spiciness. It comes together quite quickly. I like that it only takes 15 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We liked these a lot, with some slight modifications. I used only 1T chili powder and it was PLENTY. I also meant to add only a teeny bit of cinnamon but the shaker got away from me a little and added probably more than what's called for - but it's okay it didn't really taste cinnamon-y at all, so no need to be afraid of the 1/2 tsp. I didn't bother with the blender, but mashed up the salsa a bit with a potato masher - I don't even think that's necessary though unless you have REALLY thick salsa. I added a little shredded cheese too, but we didn't even really notice it, so I'd say it's not really necessary to add (or add quite a bit). I also only had 6-inch tortillas - I got 10 6-inch chimis with these filling measurements. The final product was very good - we ate just with some sour cream, but I'd like to try to find a sauce that will compliment them. My favourite restaurant chimi gets served with ranchero sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were outstanding. I cut down the amount of cinnamon and chilli and skipped on the beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 101-110 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States