Chicken Chimi in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We liked these a lot, with some slight modifications. I used only 1T chili powder and it was PLENTY. I also meant to add only a teeny bit of cinnamon but the shaker got away from me a little and added probably more than what's called for - but it's okay it didn't really taste cinnamon-y at all, so no need to be afraid of the 1/2 tsp. I didn't bother with the blender, but mashed up the salsa a bit with a potato masher - I don't even think that's necessary though unless you have REALLY thick salsa. I added a little shredded cheese too, but we didn't even really notice it, so I'd say it's not really necessary to add (or add quite a bit). I also only had 6-inch tortillas - I got 10 6-inch chimis with these filling measurements. The final product was very good - we ate just with some sour cream, but I'd like to try to find a sauce that will compliment them. My favourite restaurant chimi gets served with ranchero sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were outstanding. I cut down the amount of cinnamon and chilli and skipped on the beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good! Like others, I cut waaaay back on the listed amount of chili powder. I, too, cut back on the amount of cinnamon. Like someone else said, I was afraid of the cinnamon! But, yes it did give it a good - different - flavor. I'm glad I didn't use any more than the amount I did, though. I used about 1/4 tsp. Everything else, I followed the recipe. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christena7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So good! We had leftover rotisserie chicken and tortillas to use up. It's a five with my changes: omit cinnamon, added chopped green chili peppers with the pureed salsa mixture; did not have refried beans so I used canned black breans (pureed). After baking, we topped it with shredded pepper jack cheese then transferred it back in the oven for a minute to melt and voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Holy cow, this was great! I even had my husband prep everything and get it started while I put our baby to sleep. It couldn't have been better! It tasted like we were eating out at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Didn't have much flavor, was pretty disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I cut back on the chili powder to appeal to the kids more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WellConnectedMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is great. Enjoyed by all. I loved adding the pre-shredded chicken. My husband says it had a restaurant qua
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious! I added fresh mushrooms, green peppers and some ketchup (because all I had was medium salsa- it had kick!!). I took the other reviewer's advice and only put half the cinnamon. It was great! I also stirred in about a 1/4 C. sour cream and also added some shredded Salsa Montery Jack cheese, right before I spooned mix into tortillas! Sprinkled with same cheese before baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConJessTon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
excellent. cut the chili powder to 2tsp and left the rest as is. good stuff love the cinnamon. put some cheese on top and a side of sour cream. served with a salad and applesauce. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States