Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
VERY good recipe but, there a few changes i made that i thought made it even better. First, instead of using oil to cook the vegetables and chicken i used chicken broth (same as i do when i make stirfry), this really cuts back on the fat. I'm not a big kidney bean fan so i omitted that and added another 4oz. of mushrooms(8oz.). I love spicy food so i added extra chili powder, salt and pepper flakes. And with a spoon full of fat free sour cream on top, and fat free corn bread on the side this made a VERY GOOD meal(which my boyfriend loved),and i'll be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Great alternative to beef chili and you really can't even tell the difference. I made it with ground chicken and mild chili beans instead of the kidney beans. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I made this recipe as a healthy alternative to regular chili. My husband hates anything healthy and he actually loved this recipe, so did my 2 year old. I added a little chipotle powder and cheddar cheese on top. I also added carrots because I didn't have celery. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and I really liked this chili. I made it with one pound of ground chicken and I also substituted one can of diced tomatoes with chilis for the can of whole tomatoes, because i don't really care for big chunks of tomatoes. It came out great. I think the blend of seasonings was perfect for my taste. I will probably use this as a base for chili with beef or pork as well. I served it with toasted tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Excellent chili and compatible with a balanced diet. It was a big hit!!!!!!! I did substitute butter for vegetable oit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
AWESOME CHILI! I made this chili with allrecipe's Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread. The whole family loved it. It was definately a hit. I know I'll be making this meal again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is so good. It was such a hit! A nice change from the traditional beef. Even my picky husband raved about it. I omitted the mushrooms and green peppers just because we don't eat them. Next time I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
This turned out great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I also cooked this in my crockpot. However, I omitted the mushrooms and celery because I was pressed for time and found those 2 ingredients unnecessary anyway. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and added one small can of tomato sauce so that the crock pot would at least be 2/3 full... The chicken was grilled in the electric grilling machine - no plug here for brand of appliance used:)!!!! Then it was topped with sliced green onions and a dollop of sour cream. The piece de resistance: good ol' cornbread.... YES! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
I threw everything in the crockpot and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States