Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I also cooked this in my crockpot. However, I omitted the mushrooms and celery because I was pressed for time and found those 2 ingredients unnecessary anyway. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and added one small can of tomato sauce so that the crock pot would at least be 2/3 full... The chicken was grilled in the electric grilling machine - no plug here for brand of appliance used:)!!!! Then it was topped with sliced green onions and a dollop of sour cream. The piece de resistance: good ol' cornbread.... YES! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was a very good recipe - it lasted me for lunch and dinner (2 bowls each time). It struck me as a little unusual, since without the tomato sauce/paste so common to other chili recipes, it was a little more like a chicken-vegetable stew than a soup/chili. The extra minutes spent in sauteing the vegetables and browning the chicken paid off in enhancing the flavors, I think. I wasn't expecting there to be enough chicken in this recipe, but it was plenty, as it turned out. It wasn't very hot, but the spice mixture was very tasty. I think I'll make this for The Woman I Love someday soon. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
I threw everything in the crockpot and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Nice tasting recipe. I used TVP instead of chicken and it was really good. Red pepper tasted better than green, used a little less onion on second recipe, little better that way. Didn't like crunch of celery, so added carrots second try, little smoother. Spices were a good combo, could not taste cocoa powder, maybe just deepens color a bit. Nice recipe to adjust spice on, just add more crushed red pepper or cayenne if you want it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was so good! I used two chicken breasts, which i boiled and then shredded by hand. I used a 28 oz can of chunky tomatos and a small can of tomato paste. I also added a can of sweet corn. Instead of chili powder, i used chili sauce, which may be the reason i got a sweet sauce, can't think of what else caused it to be sweet, maybe the tomato paste?? ...but in any case, it was great! My Husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
We made this at a cooking circle yesterday. We used chicken thighs (about 1 1/2 lbs) and a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. I added a tsp of sugar to cut the acidity, and a little extra garlic salt, chili powder and cumin. I also had it with shredded cheddar over top. It was great, and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Great alternative to beef chili and you really can't even tell the difference. I made it with ground chicken and mild chili beans instead of the kidney beans. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Great!! I left out the cocoa and used diced tomatoes instead of the whole... added an additional can of them, as it seemed a bit dry without. I also used canned mushrooms as I had them on hand instead of the fresh. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
AWESOME CHILI! I made this chili with allrecipe's Dr. Michael's Yeasted Cornbread. The whole family loved it. It was definately a hit. I know I'll be making this meal again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States